Skip to Main Content

eLibrary

eLibrary Help

Libby by OverDrive

Libby is a free app where you can borrow ebooks, digital audiobooks, and magazines from PPLD. You can stream items with a wireless Internet connection (Wi-Fi) or mobile data, or download them for offline use and read anytime, anywhere. All you need to get started is a PPLD library card.

 

New features in Libby:  

Deep Search and Notify Me allow you to discover titles that aren't in your library's collection in Libby.

Click here to learn how to find and tag these titles in the app so you will be notified if they're available in the future.

 

 

 

Are Libby and OverDrive the same?

Libby is built by OverDrive.  Libby was designed to make finding, borrowing, and enjoying free ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines easier than ever.

OverDrive Website

Libby App

 
Access complete collection Newest and easiest to use app  

Recommend titles to library for purchase, rate titles, wish lists.

This feature was retired on May 1, 2023.

Instead, you can use Libby to express interest in titles we don't have and get notified if we add them.

 See titles you can read or listen to in app. Search for titles not yet in PPLD's collection and indicate your interest using the Notify Me feature.  
 

Allows multiple library cards attached to one user account

  

What do I need to use Libby?

  • A Pikes Peak Library District resident library card number (resident card numbers start with a 4) and PIN.
  • A compatible mobile device with wireless Internet access to use the app.
  • A personal computer or laptop with Internet access to use the website. 

Setting up Libby

  • Visit your device's app store and search for "Libby"
  • Tap Install or Get and then open the Libby app
  • Follow the prompts to find your library - Select Pikes Peak Library District
  • Register with your PPLD card number and 4-digit pin
  • Start browsing the collection

NOTES FOR KINDLE FIRE USERS:

  • Overdrive provides instructions to install Libby on Kindle Fire at: https://www.overdrive.com/apps/libby/kindlefire
  • Users with a Kindle Fire can also access Libby in the Fire browser by going to libbyapp.com.
  • OverDrive does not have any updates on Libby app availability in the Kindle Fire app store.

undefined Libby can be used as an app with multiple devices and from the Libby website. 

Device and link to app store
Android 
iOS - Apple iPad/iPhone
Windows 10
Chromebooks
Web browsers

 

What do I need to use Libby?

  • A Pikes Peak Library District resident library card number (resident card numbers start with a 4) and PIN.
  • A personal computer or laptop with Internet access to use the website. 

Get started with Libby in your web browser. Learn to browse and check out titles.

Get Started with Libby Guide

How to Use the Libby website

  • Visit the Libby website
  • Answer library card prompt
  • Locate your library or link a device
  • Choose library
  • Enter your library card number and 4-digit pin
  • Start browsing the collection

 

Libby is available in multiple languages. Libby will automatically use the language your device (mobile phone, tablet, ereader, or computer) is set to.

  • Chinese (Simplified and Traditional)
  • English
  • French (Canada)
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish (Latin America)
  • Swedish

You can also set language preferences for books in Libby. Learn more here.

Libby for Amazon Fire tablets

Libby is now available to download from the Amazon Appstore. Going forward, users with Amazon Fire tablets should download Libby directly from the Amazon Appstore instead of manually sideloading the app.

  • The OverDrive app was removed from the Amazon Appstore on June 7, 2023. Fire tablet users who already have the OverDrive app installed can continue to use it for now, but it is no longer in active development. The OverDrive app will display messaging encouraging those with compatible devices to upgrade to Libby.
  • The web page that hosted OverDrive’s Libby APK instructions will redirect users to the Amazon Appstore to download Libby. Users with OverDrive’s Libby APK on their Fire tablet can continue to use that version. If a user would like to switch to the Amazon Appstore version of the app, they can follow these steps. Note: Users who switch from the APK version to the Amazon Appstore version of Libby may lose their Libby timeline activity, search history, and app customizations. They will not lose their loans, holds, or tags.
  • The Kindle Book format remains available to users in the U.S. only.

 

undefinedMost titles in PPLD's Libby collection are available in Kindle format. These items can be borrowed, transferred, and then read in the Kindle app on your device or on a Kindle ereader (excluding the Kindle Fire tablet). 

Note: The Kindle format is only available for eBooks. Audiobooks must be downloaded through a different method and are not available on non-Fire Kindles. 

Sharing titles: Users can now share titles on social media or directly with friends, using the Share button found on a title’s Reading Journey and details screen. A shared title page shows the book’s summary, basic details, and nearby libraries that offer the title through Libby. This new option encourages users to socialize their favorite reads with family, friends, and followers while spreading awareness of the library’s digital collection.
Exporting reading data: Users can also export their reading data, including:
  • Titles in a specific tag
  • Their activity timeline
  • A title’s Reading Journey, which includes bookmarks, notes, and highlights
 
Sharing titles and export reading data features.

Users can select how to export their data and use it how they’d like, whether that’s posting a favorite tag to Twitter, graphing their 2020 reading stats, or revisiting notes & highlights for a book club.

Note: Users have the option to disable activity recording from their activity timeline.

Visit Libby Help for more information about these new features as well as other FAQs

OverDrive

OverDrive hosts more than 150,000 premium digital eBook and Audiobook titles from more than 1,000 publishers. OverDrive also includes magazines.

Ways to Use OverDrive

  • Overdrive Website - stream eBooks, audiobooks, magazines
  • Libby App - eBooks, audiobooks, magazines  
OverDrive Website

Libby App

 
Access complete collection Newest and easiest to use app  

Recommend titles to library for purchase, rate titles, wish lists.

This feature was retired on May 1, 2023.

Instead, you can use Libby to express interest in titles we don't have and get notified if we add them.

 See titles you can read or listen to in app. Search for titles not yet in PPLD's collection and indicate your interest using the Notify Me feature.  
 

Allows multiple library cards attached to one user account

 

  

OverDrive hosts more than 150,000 premium digital eBook and Audiobook titles from more than 1,000 publishers. There are also magazines. Access them all through PPLD's OverDrive website using Google Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Internet Explorer, or Edge. 

Use OverDrive Website (see video below)

OverDrive is compatible with multiple devices and operating systems. The OverDrive Help site provides detailed device guides to help you use the OverDrive website and app. 

​ OverDrive Device Profiles and Guides 

Device Type and App Store 
Android 
Chromebooks
Apple iPad/iPhone/iPod
Amazon Kindle Fire Tablets
Kobo
Mac OS
Nook
Windows

undefinedMost titles in the PPLD OverDrive collection are available to read in Kindle format. These items can be borrowed from OverDrive and sent to the Kindle app on your device or sent to a Kindle device. If a title is unavailable in Kindle format, you can read it in the OverDrive app, but not through the Kindle app.

The Kindle app is available for Android, iOS, and Windows devices. 

Note: The Kindle format is only available for eBooks. Audiobooks must be downloaded through a different method and are not available on non-Fire Kindles.