LibGuides: Robert Hilbert Nonprofit Resource Center: Prospect Research

Prospect Research can seem daunting, but knowing which resources to use and how to use them will make the process more efficient and more effective.

Online Library Resources

Data Axle (formerly known as Reference USA)
Data Axle (formerly Reference USA) contains information on 100 million businesses and 297 million consumers.
Additionally, this resource includes lifestyle and consumer data on many market segments to help identify new market opportunities.
Data Axle also includes 2.5 million job and internship postings.

Data Axle Instructions
Step by step instructions for Data Axle.

SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics is a mapping, analytics, and data visualization application that makes it easy for anyone to create interactive maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing variables. Use the database as a guest or create an account to save your projects. Recommended for use with laptops and desktop computers.
Information from Simply Analytics is not to be used for commercial purposes.

America’s News: https://research.ppld.org/magazines-newspapers/databases* Coverage includes: Gazette, Denver Post, Rocky Mountain News, Pueblo Chieftain, and more
Pikes Peak Newsfinder: https://research.ppld.org/magazines-newspapers*
Newspaper Source: https://research.ppld.org/magazines-newspapers/databases*
All above PPLD news databases can be found on ppld.org on the Magazines/Newspapers link under the Research tab of the home page.

Local Resources

El Paso County Assessors
Search the County Assessors website to find out information about specific home values in El Paso County.

Additional Online Resources

*Require a PPLD library card or access from within a PPLD branch library

Top Lists

Forbes 400: http://www.forbes.com/forbes-400/

Telephone Directories and Contact Information

Switchboard.com: https://www.whitepages.com/
Anywho: http://www.anywho.com

Miscellaneous

Political Donations: http://opensecrets.org
CACI (Consolidated Analysis Systems Inc.) – print publication. Great for zip code demographics – income/spending, etc.
Zoominfo: http://www.zoominfo.com (aggregates public information on individuals - some fee-based)
SearchSystems.net: https://publicrecords.searchsystems.net/ (free public records search)
APRA: https://www.aprahome.org/prspct-l: PRSPCT-L is a discussion group and mailing list of subscribers who work in non-profit fundraising, specifically those engaged in prospect research, data mining and analytics, and relationship management.

Corporate Information and Stockholdings

SEC Edgar: http://sec.gov/edgar.shtml
Market Watch: http://www.marketwatch.com/
Forbes.com: http://forbes.com
Dun & Bradstreet: http://hoovers.com

Real Estate Assessments

Zillow: http://www.zillow.com
US Tax Assessor database: http://www.pulawski.net

Robert Hilbert Nonprofit Resource Center

Prospect Research can seem daunting, but knowing which resources to use and how to use them will make the process more efficient and more effective.

Online Library Resources

Local Resources

Additional Online Resources

Doctor and Dentist Databases

American Medical Association: https://doctorfinder.ama-assn.org/doctorfinder

American Dental Association: http://www.mouthhealthy.org/en/find-a-dentist.aspx

Lawyer Database

Martindale-Avvo: http://martindale.com

Obituaries

Pikes Peak Newsfinder: https://research.ppld.org/magazines-newspapers*

America’s News: https://research.ppld.org/magazines-newspapers/databases*

Social Security Death Index: https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/3693/

*Require a PPLD library card or access from within a PPLD branch library

Top Lists

Forbes 400: http://www.forbes.com/forbes-400/

Telephone Directories and Contact Information

Switchboard.com: https://www.whitepages.com/

Anywho: http://www.anywho.com

Miscellaneous

Political Donations: http://opensecrets.org

CACI (Consolidated Analysis Systems Inc.) – print publication. Great for zip code demographics – income/spending, etc.

Zoominfo: http://www.zoominfo.com (aggregates public information on individuals - some fee-based)

SearchSystems.net: https://publicrecords.searchsystems.net/ (free public records search)

APRA: https://www.aprahome.org/prspct-l: PRSPCT-L is a discussion group and mailing list of subscribers who work in non-profit fundraising, specifically those engaged in prospect research, data mining and analytics, and relationship management.

Corporate Information and Stockholdings

SEC Edgar: http://sec.gov/edgar.shtml

Market Watch: http://www.marketwatch.com/

Forbes.com: http://forbes.com

Dun & Bradstreet: http://hoovers.com

Real Estate Assessments

Zillow: http://www.zillow.com

US Tax Assessor database: http://www.pulawski.net