A survey of clothing, costume and fashion. Coverage includes the origins of clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress, as well as representative costumes from a wide range of historical eras.
Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day. Examines more than 430 items of human decoration and adornment, ranging from togas to turbans, necklaces to tennis shoes. Explores how and why items were created, the people who made them, and their uses.
Work, play, fashion, economic class, religious faith, even politics—all these aspects of American life and more are woven into clothing. The Museum cares for one of the nation's foremost collections of men's, women's, and children's garments and accessories—from wedding gowns and military uniforms to Halloween costumes and bathing suits.
Fashiondex, Apparel Industry Publishers, was started in 1992 by a fashion designer who had arranged her Rolodex into types of fabrics and trims, instead of from A to Z. It features information on various places to source fabrics, materials, and more.
The FIDM Museum and Library, Inc. collects, preserves, and interprets fashion objects and support materials with outstanding design merit. It fosters student learning, public engagement, and recognition of the creative arts and entertainment industries by providing access to the collections through exhibitions, publications, and other research opportunities.
OTEXA provides this directory to assist buyers in sourcing U.S.-made textiles, apparel, footwear and travel goods from U.S. vendors, which include manufacturers, suppliers, distributors, and producers.
Responsibility in Fashion is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit bringing together sustainable, conscious, ethical, circular and eco fashion organizations and government programs toward the goal of energizing and bringing innovation to the growing movement toward clean, safe and ethical fashion.
Spanning five centuries, this Fashion collection is the largest and most comprehensive collection of dress in the world. Key items in the collection include rare 17th century gowns, 18th century ‘mantua’ dresses, 1930s eveningwear, 1960s daywear and post-war couture.
The Vintage Fashion Guild™ (VFG) is an international organization dedicated to the promotion and preservation of vintage fashion. They focus on collecting, organizing, and presenting that information-resulting in the first VFG website.
The World Encyclopedia of Puppetry Arts called “WEPA” or “EMAM” for Encyclopédie Mondiale des Arts de la Marionnette, has been created in order to preserve the heritage of puppetry arts while promoting the new trends. It offers 1272 articles written, translated and edited by 341 contributors, on puppet techniques, the major puppeteers and the history of puppets in several countries, etc.
This reference guide to contemporary fashion features over 400 designers, milliners, footwear designers, companies and textile houses. Entries include biographical summary, bibliography and critical essay.
From diapers to Dior, saris to serapes, the world of clothing is nearly as vast and as ancient as the human race. Tracing the stylistic and functional threads that unite clothing across time and cultures, as well as delving into the divergent styles and significance of apparel, this A to Z encyclopedia is the essential resource for exploring the relationship between culture and couture.
How people dressed throughout history often reflects how they lived at the time, and "Clothing in World History" gives the reader a chance to explore clothing in a given place and time while also providing a general history to help put the costumes in context.