LibGuides: Law & Legal Resources: Home

Librarian

Deb Hamilton

Email Me

Contact:

Penrose Library
20 N. Cascade Ave.
Colorado Springs, CO 80903

(719) 531-6333 x6058

Subjects: Law

Welcome

Welcome to the Law Collection for Pikes Peak Library District!

Below you will find links to several guides that contain resources for conducting legal research, how to represent yourself in court, how to find legal assistance, and more.

On the left you can access our Legal Reference Service Policy, information on the collection, legal databases, and our Legal Aid handout that lists all of the major providers of free and low-cost legal help in the area.

Laws & Legal Forms
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Jul 25, 2024 938 views this year
Representing Yourself in Court
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Nov 15, 2024 640 views this year
Getting Legal Help
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Jun 10, 2024 4664 views this year
Understanding the Law
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Jul 26, 2024 165 views this year
Special Legal Topics
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Nov 15, 2024 1369 views this year
Government Resources
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Nov 15, 2024 379 views this year
Eviction Information and Resources
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Aug 1, 2024 1464 views this year
Money Issues
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Aug 2, 2023 263 views this year

Featured Sources

Legal Assistance
This list provides information on a number of agencies that provide legal assistance in the Pikes Peak region. Some resources are free, others do charge a fee for services.

The Justice Center
Since 2011, The Justice Center has been working in the Pikes Peak region to decrease the gap in access to justice and legal services. We do this by providing free legal clinics, connecting applicants to free and reduced cost attorneys, and participating in community access-to-justice events.
Email-A-Lawyer - The Justice Center
Do you have a brief question that you need a lawyer to answer? Do you live in El Paso or Teller County? The Justice Center will gladly contact a lawyer for you! He or she will anonymously answer within 7 business days!

Eviction Diversion Mediation Program
Free mediation between tenants and landlords provided by the Office of Dispute Resolution for residents of El Paso County. Mediators can help solve a dispute between a landlord and tenant involving security deposits, non-payment of rent and/or alleged lease violations,
Free and Low-Cost Legal Help in Colorado Springs

Colorado Checkerboard
"The CHECKERBOARD is a single point-of-entry web site providing free, 24/7 “one-click” public access for all forms, statutes, rules, instructions, flowcharts, and videos for each of over 40 different types of Colorado civil cases. "
Colorado Court App
The new Colorado Court App provides easy connections to a wide variety of free self-help resources, including the Court's website, Colorado Legal Services, Colorado Bar Association, Colorado Self-Help Center, and the CHECKERBOARD website. All free, and available now for your smart phone in Android version from the Google Play Store. Apple-compatible version expected in a couple months.
Colorado Legal Services
719-471-0380
Helping low-income Coloradans find solutions to civil legal problems.
more...less...
102 S. Tejon Street, Suite 430, Colorado Springs, CO 80903
Colorado Revised Statutes
All of the laws passed by the General Assembly and signed by the Governor. Also includes Colorado Court Rules, Colorado Constitution, and Colorado Advanced Legislative Service. From LexisNexis®.
Colorado Springs City Code and Charter
The laws for the city of Colorado Springs. Searchable by key words or phrases, or browse by the table of contents.
Colorado Judicial Branch
Includes list of courts in Colorado, probation, jury information, self-help, forms, and careers.