Early U.S. History - Topic Guides - Social Studies - LibGuides at Pikes Peak Library District

Search Terms

Specific key words or phrases are necessary to find information in databases or the library catalog. We recommend:

American Revolutionary War
Boston Tea Party
United States Constitution
War of 1812
Manifest destiny
American Civil War
Emancipation
Reconstruction

Search Strategies

You can use these search terms to find books in the library catalog and eBooks or eAudiobooks in the eLibrary.
To narrow your search, type two terms into a search bar in this format: "Term 1" AND "Term 2". This search will only provide resources that include both terms. Combine any two search terms from the box into a database search bar to see what you find.
Find more database search tips on the Debate Issues & Paper Topics guide, in the Database Search Tops box.

Standards and Knowledge Building

This guide is connected to the following Colorado Academic Standards

Investigate and evaluate primary and secondary sources about United
States history from the American Revolution through Reconstruction to
formulate and defend a point of view with textual evidence.
The historical eras, individuals, groups, ideas and themes from the origins
of the American Revolution through Reconstruction.

This guide will support students by building further knowledge in:

The events of early U.S. history from various perspectives.
Different library resources – what they are and how they are useful for
understanding early U.S. history.
How to effectively find information in these sources using search terms.

Contact

Mikaela Fortune

Email Me

Contact:

5550 N. Union Blvd.
Colorado Springs, CO
80918

(719) 531-6333

Welcome to the Early U.S. History Topic Guide!

Databases

Databases are subject-specific search engines that provide access to journal articles and other reliable resources. The following PPLD databases are recommended for students studying early U.S. history.

Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, and the War on Terror.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography is built on a foundation of more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated to ensure users have access to the latest information.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
History Reference Source offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Searches almost 3500 full text academic and scholarly journals.

Reference materials are things like encyclopedias and handbooks that provide quick facts and summaries of different subjects. The following encyclopedias and dictionaries in the PPLD catalog support the study of early U.S. history:

American Revolution by Barbara C. Bigelow; Linda Schmittroth; Stacy A. McConnell
ISBN: 9780787691479
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
eBook accessible through Gale Virtual Reference Library.

This digital 4 volume set provides in-depth information about the American
Revolution.
Shaping of America by Richard Clay Hanes; Sharon M. Hanes; Kelly Rudd; Lawrence W. Baker
ISBN: 9781414401812
Publication Date: 2005-11-15
eBook accessible through Gale Virtual Reference Library.

This digital, 5-volume set chronicles and illustrates 1783-1815 in the U.S., including economic, religious, and political forces. Includes biographies and primary sources.
U-X-L Encyclopedia of U. S. History by Lawrence W. Baker (Editor); Sarah Hermsen; Sonia Benson
ISBN: 9781414430430
Publication Date: 2008-09-23
eBook accessible through Gale Virtual Reference Library.

This digital, 8-volume set introduces the history of the United States from pre-Colonial America to the present day.

Reference materials are things like encyclopedias and handbooks that provide quick facts and summaries of different subjects. The following books in the PPLD catalog support the study of early U.S. history:

Everything You Need to Ace American History in One Big Fat Notebook by Editors of Brain Quest (Concept by); Philip Bigler (Guest Editor); Workman Publishing; Lily Rothman (Text by); Editors of Brain Quest (Concept by); Philip Bigler (Guest Editor); Workman Publishing; Lily Rothman (Text by)
Call Number: 973 ROTH
ISBN: 9780761160830
Publication Date: 2016-08-09
Units in this guide include Colonial America, the Revolutionary War and the founding of a new nation, Jefferson and the expansion west, and the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Women Heroes of the American Revolution by Susan Casey
Call Number: 973.3082 CASE CASE.
ISBN: 9781613745830
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Some women served as spies, nurses, and water carriers; some helped as fundraisers, writers, and couriers; and still others functioned as resistors, rescuers, and – surprisingly – even soldiers.
Lincoln: How Abraham Lincoln Ended Slavery in America by Harold Holzer
Call Number: 973.7092 L736HOL
ISBN: 9780062265098
Publication Date: 2012-11-20
Drawing from letters, speeches, memoirs, and documents by Lincoln and others, the author covers not only Lincoln’s work to end slavery but also his upbringing, his work as a lawyer and congressman, his presidency, and his relationships with family and political associates.

Explore (multimedia and recommended websites)

Recommended Websites
Multimedia

You can use trusted, online sources to find information. For more information on reliable, online sources, please visit PPLD’s Debate Issues & Paper Topics guide. PPLD recommends:

Library of Congress Digital Collections - American History
Documents relating to American history and creativity, including written documents, spoken-word recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, sheet music, and musical recordings.
National Archives
Links to resources available through the U.S National Archive including America’s founding documents, foreign affairs, military records and investigations, and more.
Collections Archive from Teaching American History
Curated collections of primary sources. Organized into categories including American Revolution, Bill of Rights, and Causes of the Civil War.

Use these multimedia sources to watch or listen to information on this topic.

Crash Course: U.S. History
This series includes such topics as The Constitution, the Articles, and Federalism; the War of 1812, and The election of 1860 & the Road to Disunion. Click the link to access the collection of videos on YouTube.
The American Revolution through Native Eyes
Examine three ways Native Americans experienced the American Revolution: as allies, as participants in their own civil wars, and as neutral parties. This video is a part of The Great Courses, which is accessible through Kanopy in the PPLD eLibrary.
The Civil War In 15 Objects
This recorded lecture invites us to reimagine the American Civil War through surviving objects that they wore, wrote, carried, painted, sculpted, or collected during this transformative upheaval. This video is a part of One Day University which is accessible through Hoopla in the PPLD eLibrary.