Chemistry - Topic Guides - Math and Science - LibGuides at Pikes Peak Library District

Search Terms

Specific key words or phrases are necessary to find information in databases or the library catalog. We recommend:

Molecule
Ion
Atom/Atomic
Fusion
Fission
Radioactive decay
Matter
Chemical Reaction
Chemical Property
Periodic Table of Elements

Search Strategies

You can use these search terms to find books in the library catalog and eBooks or eAudiobooks in the eLibrary.
To narrow your search, type two terms into a search bar in this format: "Term 1" AND "Term 2". This search will only provide resources that include both terms. Combine any two search terms from the box into a database search bar to see what you find.
Find more database search tips on the Debate Issues & Paper Topics guide, in the Database Search Tops box.

Standards and Knowledge Building

This guide is connected to the following Colorado Academic Standards

The fact that matter is composed of atoms and molecules can be used to explain the properties of substances, diversity of materials, states of matter and phases changes.
The sub-atomic structural model and interactions between electric charges at the atomic scale can be used to explain the structure and interactions of matter.

This guide will support students by building further knowledge in:

A variety of topics in chemistry such as molecular structure and the periodic table of elements.
Different library resources – what they are and how they are useful for researching information about space travel.
How to effectively find information in these sources using search terms.

Contact

Mikaela Fortune

Email Me

Contact:

5550 N. Union Blvd.
Colorado Springs, CO
80918

(719) 531-6333

Welcome to the Chemistry Topic Guide!

Databases

Databases are subject-specific search engines that provide access to journal articles and other reliable resources. The following PPLD databases are recommended for students studying chemistry:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Searches almost 3500 full text academic and scholarly journals.
Explora for Public Libraries This link opens in a new window
Find articles and facts from the world’s leading magazines and reference books in one search.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Searches our entire collection of Gale eBooks on a variety of subjects, including history, science, government, business and more.
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics This link opens in a new window
This Encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This broad coverage supports the numerous courses in applied and professional ethics and policy related to the practice of science and technology in education.
Science of Everyday Things This link opens in a new window
This 4-vol. set illustrates the importance of scientific and mathematical principles through their use in everyday life. Each volume focuses on a specific scientific discipline -- biology, chemistry, earth sciences, and physics.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A one-stop resource for science-related research needs.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology.

Reference materials are things like encyclopedias and handbooks that provide quick facts and summaries of different subjects. The following encyclopedias and dictionaries in the PPLD catalog support the study of chemistry:

The Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Elements by Lisa Congdon
ISBN: 9781452161594
Publication Date: 2021-07-13
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Elements leads young readers in an exploration of all 118 known elements. From their discoveries to their uses to their special properties, this vibrant book explores all things elements.
* A visually stunning tour of the periodic table
* Complete with profiles of notable scientists, amazing infographics, and more
* Features an illustrated history of the periodic table's origins
This artful survey of the elements combines science, history, trivia, humor, and endless fascination for science enthusiasts of every age.
Science Encyclopedia by National Geographic Kids
ISBN: 9781426325427
Publication Date: 2016-10-11
Food chemistry, atom crashing, wave power, food chemistry, and robots! These are just a few of the topics covered in this fantastic new science encyclopedia, which presents a comprehensive overview of physical and life sciences from A to Z. Super smart and kid-friendly, it's packed with full-color photographs, weird but true facts, amazing statistics, do-it-yourself experiments, plus profiles of scientists and National Geographic's explorers who rock the world of science.
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry by Glenn D. Considine (Editor)
ISBN: 0471615250
Publication Date: 2005-02-03
Scientists, engineers, and technologists in many fields need a knowledge of chemistry because of the importance of chemistry in diverse technologies. In addition, to "classical" topics of chemistry, the new Encyclopedia covers nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, green chemistry, forensic chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, combinatorial chemistry, materials chemistry, and proteomics.

Reference materials are things like encyclopedias and handbooks that provide quick facts and summaries of different subjects. The following books in the PPLD catalog support the study of chemistry:

Painless Chemistry by Loris Chen
ISBN: 9781506268088
Publication Date: 2020-10-06
Taking Chemistry doesn't have to be painful! With this guide, students will see how the Periodic Table of Elements offers the key to understanding chemistry, discover many of nature's surprises, explore atomic theory, chemical bonding, the structure of molecules, and more.
Super Simple Chemistry by DK
ISBN: 9781465493231
Publication Date: 2020-06-23
A fantastic aid for coursework, homework, and studying for tests, this comprehensive guide covers Next Generation Science Standards, for grades 6-10 and will have you ready for tests and exams in no time.
Each topic is fully illustrated to support the information, make the facts crystal clear, and bring the science to life. A large central image explains the idea visually and each topic is summed up on a single page, helping children to quickly get up to speed and really understand how chemistry works.
Visual Learning: Chemistry by Ali O. Sezer
ISBN: 9781506280967
Publication Date: 2021-12-13
Barron's new Visual Learning series breaks down complex science concepts into clear, captivating illustrations for the visual learner! With large, colorful graphics, including maps, diagrams, and labeled illustrations and clear supporting text, Visual Learning: Chemistry is an invaluable resource for readers of all ages who want to learn science in an easy and engaging way. Learn key chemistry topics including: The atom and nucleus Electrons The periodic table of elements Chemical bonding Molecular structure Chemical reactions Solutions, gases, and much more.
Everything You Need to Ace Chemistry in One Big Fat Notebook by Workman Publishing; Jennifer Swanson
ISBN: 9781523504251
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
Chemistry is one of the most feared subjects in high school, but fortunately National Science Teacher Award-winner Jennifer Swanson is here to break down this daunting subject into accessible and memorable units, from how to conduct an experiment to the Laws of Thermodynamics.
The Handy Chemistry Answer Book by Justin P. Lomont; Ian C. Stewart
ISBN: 9781578593743
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Don't be mixed up about chemistry! Simplify the complex chemical reactions that take place everywhere in our lives with this engaging, easy-to-follow, question-and-answer guide!

Explore (multimedia and recommended websites)

Recommended Websites
Multimedia

You can use trusted, online sources to find information. For more information on reliable, online sources, please visit PPLD’s Debate Issues & Paper Topics guide. PPLD recommends:

Khan Academy - Chemistry
ChemCollective: Tutorials
ChemCollective tutorials walk students through solving chemistry problems movies, text, and interactive tutors. Because the hints given by these tutors ultimately provide the solution to the problem, they are similar to worked examples in a textbook. Currently, we have tutorials covering concepts in stoichiometry, buffers, and equilibrium.
Royal Society of Chemistry
Websites, videos, tutorials, experiments, articles and more in a wide range of chemistry topics.
TED Talks: Chemistry
A collection of TED talks on the topic of chemistry.
American Chemical Society: ChemMatters
Magazine that helps high school students find connections between chemistry and the world around them.
PhET Simulations: Chemistry
Founded in 2002 by Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman, the PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. PhET sims are based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery.

Use these multimedia sources to watch or listen to information on this topic.

Crash Course: Chemistry
Chemistry Series
Explore the world of chemistry through these informative programs, which provide a valuable supplement to middle-school, high-school or college science curriculums. Films in Series: Acids, Bases and Salts (2nd Ed.) Chemical Bonding and Atomic Structure (2nd Ed.) Elements, Compounds and Mixtures (2nd Ed.) The Periodic Table of Periodicity Reaction Rates and Equilibrium Solutions: Ionic and Molecular (2nd Ed.) These videos are accessible through Kanopy in the PPLD eLibrary.
The Great Courses - Chemistry and Our Universe
Chemistry is the study of matter and energy at the scale of atoms and molecules. Covering a year's worth of introductory general chemistry at the college level, plus intriguing topics that are rarely discussed in the classroom, this visually engaging and comprehensive course requires nothing more advanced than high-school math and is suitable for any science background. These videos are accessible through Kanopy in the PPLD eLibrary.
BrainPop: Matter and Chemistry
BrainPOP creates animated resources that support educators and engage students - in school, at home, and on mobile devices. Our content includes movies, quizzes, games, mobile apps, activity pages, and much more covering hundreds of topics within Math, Science, Social Studies, English, Technology, Arts & Music, and Health. All content is aligned to and searchable by state standards including Common Core.