Biology and Anatomy - Topic Guides - Math and Science - LibGuides at Pikes Peak Library District

Search Terms

Specific key words or phrases are necessary to find information in databases or the library catalog. We recommend:

Biology
Biodiversity
Biotic
Abiotic
Anatomy
Physiology
Kinesiology
Biochemistry
DNA
Inheritance
Genetic Variation
Mitosis/Meiosis
Energy Transfer
Evolution
Natural Selection

Search Strategies

You can use these search terms to find books in the library catalog and eBooks or eAudiobooks in the eLibrary.
To narrow your search, type two terms into a search bar in this format: "Term 1" AND "Term 2". This search will only provide resources that include both terms. Combine any two search terms from the box into a database search bar to see what you find.
Find more database search tips on the Debate Issues & Paper Topics guide, in the Database Search Tops box.

Standards and Knowledge Building

This guide is connected to the following Colorado Academic Standards

The characteristics of one generation are dependent upon the genetic information inherited from previous generations.
Evidence of common ancestry and diversity between species can be determined by examining variations including genetic, anatomical and physiological differences.

This guide will support students by building further knowledge in:

A variety of life sciences topics such as biology and human anatomy and physiology.
Different library resources – what they are and how they are useful for
understanding life sciences like biology and anatomy.
How to effectively find information in these sources using search terms.

Contact

Mikaela Fortune

Email Me

Contact:

5550 N. Union Blvd.
Colorado Springs, CO
80918

(719) 531-6333

Welcome to the Biology and Anatomy Topic Guide!

Databases

Databases are subject-specific search engines that provide access to journal articles and other reliable resources. The following PPLD databases are recommended for students studying biology and anatomy:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Searches almost 3500 full text academic and scholarly journals.
Explora for Public Libraries This link opens in a new window
Find articles and facts from the world’s leading magazines and reference books in one search.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Searches our entire collection of Gale eBooks on a variety of subjects, including history, science, government, business and more.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A one-stop resource for science-related research needs.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology.

Reference materials are things like encyclopedias and handbooks that provide quick facts and summaries of different subjects. The following encyclopedias and dictionaries in the PPLD catalog support the study of biology and anatomy:

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences by Anne O'Daly (Editor)
ISBN: 0761474420
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
An illustrated encyclopedia with articles on agriculture, anatomy, biochemistry, biology, genetics, medicine, and molecular biology.
Dictionary of Biology by Robert Hine
ISBN: 0816056471
Publication Date: 2005-06-30
Incorporating the new terms and research compiled in the last few years in this field, The Facts On File Dictionary of Biology, Fourth Edition clearly defines the basic principles and terms used in this widely studied branch of science.
Visual Learning: Human Anatomy by Ken Ashwell
ISBN: 9781506280950
Publication Date: 2021-10-29
With large, colorful graphics, and simple explanations, Barron's Visual Learning: Human Anatomy is the ultimate user-friendly resource for anatomy learners. Inside you'll find easy-to-follow diagrams, detailed illustrations, and mindmaps for key topics.
Anatomy 101 by Kevin Langford
ISBN: 9781440584268
Publication Date: 2015-07-04
This easy-to-read guide cuts out the boring details, and instead, provides you with a compelling lesson in anatomy. Covering every aspect of anatomical development and physiology, each chapter details the different parts of the human body, how systems are formed, and disorders that could disrupt bodily functions.

Reference materials are things like encyclopedias and handbooks that provide quick facts and summaries of different subjects. The following books in the PPLD catalog support the study of biology and anatomy:

The Basics of Biology by Anne O'Daly
ISBN: 9781499473377
Publication Date: 2022-07-30
Survey of biology contains awe-inspiring discoveries and a rare glimpse into biologists' working methods. This factual information is complemented by stunning full-color photos, illustrations, diagrams, and primary source images, as well as intriguing sidebars that detail do-it-yourself experiments.
The Basics of the Human Body by Anne O'Daly
ISBN: 9781499473506
Publication Date: 2022-07-30
In this stunningly comprehensive roadmap to the human body, readers experience a vividly compelling account of the long history of the study of anatomy and the many breakthroughs that inform our current notions of the human body, health, and disease. The text addresses cutting-edge research, treatments, and procedures that continue to advance our understanding of the body, its possibilities, and its limitations.
Super Simple Biology by DK
ISBN: 9781465493248
Publication Date: 2020-06-23
From reproduction to respiration and from enzymes to ecosystems, every topic is fully illustrated to support the information, make the facts clear, and bring biology to life. For key ideas, "How it works" and "Look closer" boxes explain the theory with the help of simple graphics.
Everything You Need to Ace Biology in One Big Fat Notebook by Workman Publishing; Matthew Brown
ISBN: 9781523504367
Publication Date: 2021-04-27
Wrapping its arms around a subject that covers everything from life at the molecular level to the entirety of an ecosystem, Biology tackles all the big ideas: biological classification and hierarchy, cell theory, genetics, the human body, evolution, and more. And it does so in that lively, useful, and intuitive way that makes the Big Fat Notebooks so singular and successful: Critical ideas are broken down and clearly explained; doodles illuminate tricky concepts; mnemonics provide memorable shortcuts; and quizzes recap it all.

Explore (multimedia and recommended websites)

Recommended Websites
Multimedia

You can use trusted, online sources to find information. For more information on reliable, online sources, please visit PPLD’s Debate Issues & Paper Topics guide. PPLD recommends:

Khan Academy - Biology
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next!
PBS Evolution
The Evolution project's eight-hour television miniseries travels the world to examine evolutionary science and the profound effect it has had on society and culture. From the genius and torment of Charles Darwin to the scientific revolution that spawned the tree of life, from the power of sex to drive evolutionary change to the importance of mass extinctions in the birth of new species, the Evolution series brings this fascinating process to life. The series also explores the emergence of consciousness, the origin and success of humans, and the perceived conflict between science and religion in understanding life on Earth.
Medline Plus Health Videos
These animated videos show the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them.
Get Body Smart - Interactive Anatomy and Physiology
GetBodySmart represents an attempt to create a fully animated and interactive eBook about human anatomy and physiology. The contents and design of this long-term project were made based on years of experience in teaching Anatomy & Physiology.
Biology Online
Biology Online is the world’s most comprehensive database of Biology terms and topics. Since 2001 it has been the resource of choice for professors, students, and professionals needing answers to Biology questions. Search over 75,000+ terms, news, insights, discoveries, and trends in Biology.
PhET Simulations: Biology
Founded in 2002 by Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman, the PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. PhET sims are based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery.

Use these multimedia sources to watch or listen to information on this topic.

Crash Course: Anatomy and Physiology
Crash Course: Biology
Science Key Concepts: Biology
Lessons on key concepts in Biology available to stream on Kanopy in the PPLD eLibrary.
Khan Academy - Biology
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next!