Economics - Topic Guides - Math and Science - LibGuides at Pikes Peak Library District

Search Terms

Specific key words or phrases are necessary to find information in databases or the library catalog. We recommend:

Economics
Supply and demand
Markets
Capital
Human Capital
Financial Capital
Gross domestic product
Cost
Profit

Search Strategies

You can use these search terms to find books in the library catalog and eBooks or eAudiobooks in the eLibrary.
To narrow your search, type two terms into a search bar in this format: "Term 1" AND "Term 2". This search will only provide resources that include both terms. Combine any two search terms from the box into a database search bar to see what you find. For example, "Cost" AND "Profit" are good search terms to combine for economics.
Find more database search tips on the Debate Issues & Paper Topics guide, in the Database Search Tops box.

Standards and Knowledge Building

This guide is connected to the following Colorado Academic Standards

Investigate how societies create different economic systems in the Western Hemisphere.
Investigate the role of consumers within the Western Hemisphere (PFL).

This guide will support students by building further knowledge in:

Different library resources – what they are and how they are useful for understanding economics.
How to effectively find information in these sources using search terms.

Contact

Mikaela Fortune

Email Me

Contact:

5550 N. Union Blvd.
Colorado Springs, CO
80918

(719) 531-6333

Welcome to the Economics Topic Guide!

Databases

Databases are subject-specific search engines that provide access to journal articles and other reliable resources. The following PPLD databases are recommended for students studying economics:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Searches almost 3500 full text academic and scholarly journals.
Explora for Public Libraries This link opens in a new window
Find articles and facts from the world’s leading magazines and reference books in one search.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Searches our entire collection of Gale eBooks on a variety of subjects, including history, science, government, business and more.

Reference materials are things like encyclopedias and handbooks that provide quick facts and summaries of different subjects. The following encyclopedias and dictionaries in the PPLD catalog support the study of economics:

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations by Timothy L. Gall (Editor); Jeneen M. Hobby (Editor)
ISBN: 9781414410890
Publication Date: 2006-11-06
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations presents easy-to-understand information on countries and dependencies from around the world. Contains relevant information about economics.

Reference materials are things like encyclopedias and handbooks that provide quick facts and summaries of different subjects. The following books in the PPLD catalog support the study of economics:

Economics Through Infographics by Karen Latchana Kenney; Steven Stankiewicz (Illustrator)
Call Number: 330 KENN
ISBN: 9781467734608
Publication Date: 2014-08-01
Easy-to-understand and simple illustrations and infographics explaining the world of economics at a middle-school level.
Heads up Money by DK
Call Number: 332 WEEKS
ISBN: 9781465456267
Publication Date: 2017-01-03
This book dives into the convoluted world of markets and money (what it is, why can’t we print more, what is supply and demand and free trade?) to help you navigate the waters of economics

Explore (multimedia and recommended websites)

Recommended Websites
Multimedia

You can use trusted, online sources to find information. For more information on reliable, online sources, please visit PPLD’s Debate Issues & Paper Topics guide. PPLD recommends:

American Economic Association
Information on understanding economics from the American Economic Association. Contains videos and infographics to help navigate the subject.
Britannica Economics
Simple explanations of the study of economics and key terms related to the subject.
Crash Course - Economics
Quality educational videos on everything from Supply and Demand to Market Failures.
The Economist
Dictionary of terms related to economics and what they mean

Use these multimedia sources to watch or listen to information on this topic.

What Is A Price? Basic Ideas in Economic Literacy
Everything has a price tag, but who sets all these prices? What hides behind a price tag? How does price control your life? The first of many surprising lessons viewers learn in “What Is a Price?": a price is not an arbitrary number someone “puts” on something. A price is information disguised as a number. This video is accessible through Kanopy in the PPLD eLibrary.
The Invisible Hand: Economics of Daily Life
Looks at the “invisible hand” of economics in our decisions, resource sharing, and daily life. This video is accessible through Kanopy in the PPLD eLibrary.
The Economics of the Black Death
Investigate how the plague initially brought massive loss of labor, administrative manpower, and the tax base, as well as far-reaching disruption of farming. Grasp the process by which the economic opportunities for the lower and merchant classes were transformed, and how those who survived were, in most cases, much wealthier than before. This video is accessible through Kanopy in the PPLD eLibrary.