American Literature - Topic Guides - English and Language Arts - LibGuides at Pikes Peak Library District

Search Terms

Specific key words or phrases are necessary to find information in databases or the library catalog. We recommend:

American Literature
Civil Rights
African American literature
Asian American Literature
Latin American Literature
Native American literature
Post War
Revolutionary Period

Search Strategies

You can use author names, titles of works, and literary devices (like metaphor, simile, and allegory) as search terms in databases
You can use these search terms to find books in the library catalog and eBooks or eAudiobooks in the eLibrary
To narrow your search, type two terms into a search bar in this format: "Term 1" AND "Term 2". This search will only provide resources that include both terms. Combine any two search terms from the box into a database search bar to see what you find.
Find more database search tips on the Debate Issues & Paper Topics guide, in the Database Search Tops box.

Standards and Knowledge Building

This guide is connected to the following Colorado Academic Standards

Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively.
Draw evidence from literary or informational texts to support analysis, reflection, and research.

This guide will support students by building further knowledge in:

Library resources – what they are and how they can be used to find information relevant to an American literature class.
How to effectively find information in these sources using search terms.
Use databases, ebooks, and other electronic resource to inform and enhance understanding of English topics.

Contact

Mikaela Fortune

Email Me

Contact:

5550 N. Union Blvd.
Colorado Springs, CO
80918

(719) 531-6333

Welcome to the American Literature Topic Guide!

Databases

Databases are subject-specific search engines that provide access to journal articles and other reliable resources. The following PPLD databases are recommended for students studying American literature:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Searches almost 3500 full text academic and scholarly journals.
Explora for Public Libraries This link opens in a new window
Find articles and facts from the world’s leading magazines and reference books in one search.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Searches our entire collection of Gale eBooks on a variety of subjects, including history, science, government, business and more.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Includes biographical information on 122,000 authors and literary criticism on their works.

Reference materials are things like encyclopedias and handbooks that provide quick facts and summaries of different subjects. The following encyclopedias and dictionaries in the PPLD catalog support the study of American literature:

African American Literature: an Encyclopedia for Students by Hans A. Ostrom (Editor); J. David Macey (Editor); J. David Macey (Editor)
Call Number: Overdrive. PPLD eLibrary.
ISBN: 9781440871511
Publication Date: 2019-11-15
This essential volume provides an overview of and introduction to African American writers and literary periods from their beginnings through the 21st century.
The Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature by Steven Serafin (Editor); Alfred Bendixen (Editor)
Call Number: 810.3 E56
ISBN: 0826410529
Publication Date: 2003-07-01
From John Smith to Jack Kerouc, Cotton Mather to Toni Morrison, Edgar Allan Poe to Stephen King, the story of American literature is many stories - of ancient-indigenous peoples, early settlers, men and women enslaved and liberated, war and peace, and immigrants seeking better lives.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature by Jennifer McClinton-Temple; Alan R. Velie
Call Number: 810.989703 E56.
ISBN: 9780816056569
Publication Date: 2007-07-30
American Indians have produced some of the most powerful and lyrical literature ever written in North America. ""Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature"" covers the field from the earliest recorded works to some of today's most exciting writers. This encyclopedia features the most respected, widely read, and influential American Indian writers to date.
Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature by Merriam-Webster, Inc. (Created by)
Call Number: 803 M568
ISBN: 0877790426
Publication Date: 1995-04-01
A rich source of information about the world's finest literature. Over 10,000 entries and 250 illustrations covering authors, works, and literary terms and topics from all eras and all parts of the world. Includes pronunciations.

Reference materials are things like encyclopedias and handbooks that provide quick facts and summaries of different subjects. The following books in the PPLD catalog support the study of American literature:

30-Second Literature The 50 most important forms, genres and styles, each explained in half a minute by Ella Berthoud
Publication Date: March 3, 2020
Whether you're looking for a new author or genre to explore, 30-Second Literature provides you with summaries of the major literary genres, styles and histories.
Literary Themes for Students by Thomson Gale (Created by)
Call Number: 810.9358 L776 V.1
ISBN: 9781414404332
Publication Date: 2007-06-29
Examines themes found in literature and can help students build critical thinking skills by making connections between works of literature with similar themes.
Twentieth-Century and Contemporary American Literature in Context [4 Volumes] by Linda De Roche (Editor)
Call Number: 810.9005 TWEN V.1
ISBN: 9781440853586
Publication Date: 2021-06-04
Covers American literature from 1900 to the present. Provides an overview of authors, their works, and of literary movements and genres, which offers an understanding of the historical, cultural, and political contexts that have shaped American writing.This book is also available digitally through the GALE Virtual Reference Library.

Explore (multimedia and recommended websites)

Recommended Websites
Multimedia

You can use trusted, online sources to find information. For more information on reliable, online sources, please visit PPLD’s Debate Issues & Paper Topics guide. PPLD recommends:

Crash Course
Quality educational videos on a variety of subjects, including literature, mythology, and theater. Videos are also available on YouTube. Recommended videos: How and why we read, Hamlet Parts 1 and 2, Pride and Prejudice Parts 1 and 2, Straight Outta Stratford-Upon-Avon: Shakespeare’s Early Days.
Purdue Online Writing Lab
Purdue OWL offers a variety of free resources that cover all aspects of writing, from grammar to citations.
Sparknotes
Sparknotes compiles infographics, summaries, and analysis of literary works. It also includes study guides, a glossary of literary terms, instructions for writing literary analyses, quizzes, and memes to make learning a little more fun.
TED ed
TED ed offers short, video based lessons on various authors, works, and myths that provide biographical and historical context to works in the British literature cannon and short, accessible explanations of literary devices and themes. TED ed also provides resources for students, educators, and parents, like guided discussions and quizzes.
more...less...
Recommended videos: The “Why should you read…” series (ex. Why should you read Charles Dickens?), The wicked wit of Jane Austen, Everything you need to know to read the Canterbury Tales, and Mining literature for deeper meanings
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 70,000 free eBooks. Do a quick author search to find works by Mark Twain, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Louisa May Alcott, and more.

Use these multimedia sources to watch or listen to information on this topic.

The Great Courses (Literature).
A series of audio and video courses and documentaries on a variety of subjects, including American Literature. This video series is accessible through Kanopy in the PPLD eLibrary.