The Robert Hilbert Nonprofit Resource Center (NRC) is located in the Carnegie Library at Penrose Library. Funding for the NRC is provided by the Pikes Peak Library District and a grant from the El Pomar Foundation.
The NRC is a Funding Information Network partner of Candid, previously known as the Foundation Center. The Funding Information Network is comprised of libraries, community foundations, NGOs, and nonprofit resource centers in all 50 states and Puerto Rico, plus a dozen other countries.
On the left, you can access our Nonprofit Reference databases, information about our collection, local nonprofit sources, and more.
Make sure to visit the Robert Hilbert Nonprofit Resource Center (RHNRC) at Penrose Library. Located in the Regional History & Genealogy Center (the original Carnegie Section of the library), the RHNRC provides a quiet space for you to search for grants on our databases as well as peruse our Nonprofit Reference Collection of books and periodicals.
Hours (Open to the Public):
Tuesday through Friday - 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Saturday 10 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. (Closed for lunch from 12:30 - 1:30 p.m.)
Reservations not required.
Nonprofit Reference Service Policy - Library staff may assist patrons to locate legal materials and may show patrons how to use the legal books and databases. However, according to Colorado State Statutes, only attorneys licensed to practice by the Colorado Supreme Court may interpret the law (statutes, regulations, or cases) or offer opinions as to how someone’s specific legal problem should be handled. Library staff may not interpret the law or offer opinions about a patron’s legal problem. To do so would constitute the unauthorized practice of law and could subject the staff member and Pikes Peak Library District to prosecution.
Our full Legal Reference Service Policy can be viewed here.
The Robert Hilbert Nonprofit Resource Center (RHNRC) is located within the 1905 Carnegie Library. The RHNRC includes a dedicated, full-time Nonprofit Librarian who assists patrons, organizes trainings, and purchases and oversees databases, books, and subscriptions. Since 2000, the Robert Hilbert Nonprofit Resource Center has helped the Pikes Peak region’s nonprofit community build capacity in managing programs, human resources, finances, and fundraising.
The El Pomar Foundation has been instrumental in securing and maintaining this valuable resource for the Pikes Peak nonprofit community and beyond. RHNRC is a Funding Information Network partner of Candid, previously known as the Foundation Center. The Funding Information Network is comprised of libraries, community foundations, NGOs, and nonprofit resource centers in all 50 states and Puerto Rico, plus a dozen other countries.
The RHNRC collection moved from El Pomar’s Penrose House to Penrose Public Library in May of 2000. The RHNRC moved again in March 2003 to a dedicated room within the 1905 Carnegie Library, adjacent to Penrose Public Library. The intent of this move was to provide additional space for the growing collection, a dedicated space for nonprofit organizations researching grants and nonprofit management, and a computer terminal reserved for grant research. The Robert Hilbert Nonprofit Resource Center contains all the tools grant seekers need to identify funding sources such as foundations, corporations, government agencies, associations and individuals, as well as resources for nonprofit management, capacity building, IRS compliance, and starting a nonprofit. The Penrose Public Library’s staff has been specially trained to assist patrons with basic questions regarding the many resources available in the Robert Hilbert Nonprofit Resource Center.
