LibGuides: Tough Topics: Mental Health and Suicide

How to Navigate This Page

On this page, you'll find information on crisis services and how to recognize the warning signs of a mental health condition in teens and young adults. If you're a teen looking for help with a mental or behavioral health question or condition, please navigate to the Resources for Youth and Young Adults page. If you're an adult looking for help for a teen or young adult in your life, please navigate to the Resources for Parents and Caregivers page.

From the PPLD Collection

Clicking on this cover image will take you to the item record in the library catalog.

In My Feelings

Give teens the tools to decipher their emotions, understand themselves, and improve their lives.
The simple and empowering message of In My Feelings is that emotions, especially unpleasant ones, are not just to be avoided, controlled, or treated. Emotions can serve as a source of information that teens can use to make decisions and help them live their best lives.
The path to emotional health for teens lies in improving their ability to recognize, understand, manage, and use emotions. Dr. Vidal Annan encourages teens to think of emotions as messengers or sources of data that they can access and use to set and achieve goals, and to continue to grow and develop. In My Feelings starts by exploring what it means to be a teenager, what emotions are, and why people have them. In the second part of the book, Dr. Annan delves into specific emotions that teens may be experiencing daily.
In My Feelings helps teens develop their emotional literacy and tap into the power of their emotions to improve their mental health.

Out of Order

This is a manual for teens and young adults to help them understand mental illness and recovery. It covers such topics as mental illnesses, suicidal thoughts, personality disorders, learning problems, intellectual disabilities, treatment, and recovery. This book will help answer questions like: What is mental illness? What are the symptoms? Do you need help? How do you find the right kind of help? How can you take responsibility yourself for understanding and recovery. It discusses treatments, therapies, medications, support groups, and contains a disorders dictionary, resources for help, relevant websites, and an index.

Defeating Depression

The National Institute of Mental Health reports that one in ten young people will suffer from a depressive disorder before the age of eighteen. Though depression is a common condition, it is also one that is often misunderstood. This useful guide establishes the clinical definition of depression and explains the difference between conditions such as persistent depressive disorder and major depression. Common treatment methods, including therapy and medications, are discussed. The volume also contains advice about where depressed teens can turn to get the help that they need, interviews from medical professionals, information about risk factors for depression, and things depressed teens can do to try to combat their depression.

The Anxiety Survival Guide for Teens

Do you have problems with anxiety? The Anxious Teen Survival Guide is a much-needed, go-to guide to help you finally break free from the worry and ruminations that can get in the way of reaching your goals. If you have anxiety, your fears and worries can keep you from feeling confident and independent. Teen milestones such as making friends, dating, getting good grades, or taking on more mature responsibilities, may seem much more difficult. And if you're like countless other anxious teens, you may even avoid situations that cause you anxiety altogether--leaving you stuck in a cycle of worry and avoidance.

Where to Start

A comforting and useful resource for anyone who's struggling emotionally and looking for help―from the nation's leading community-based nonprofit that addresses the needs of those living with mental illness

It can be extremely hard to figure out what's going on in our own heads when we are suffering-when we feel alone and unworthy and can't stop our self-critical inner voice. And it's even more difficult to know where to go for answers.

This book is a perfect first step. Here you'll find clear, honest, reassuring information about all the most common mental illnesses and what you can do to find help and to practice self-care.

Where to Start features jargon-free information about all the most common mental illnesses, including a first self-assessment test; tips on how to get professional help and how to talk about your mental health with friends and family; essential tools, including handy worksheets and DIY mental health content; and insightful, funny drawings by acclaimed cartoonist Gemma Correll.

The Stress Survival Guide for Teens

Is stress getting the best of you? Do you ever feel overwhelmed, like your life is zooming by? This practical, proven-effective, and easy-to-use survival guide has your back!
School pressure, BFF drama, body changes, social media, dating--is it any wonder you're feeling stressed? You aren't alone. Many teens today find themselves worried, anxious, and stressed out. But there are ways you can take control of your stress before it interferes with your life. This go-to "survival guide" will show you how to deal with stress so you can get back to the things that make you happy.
With this fun and easy guide, you'll learn how cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) can help you challenge negative thoughts and replace them with more helpful, flexible ways of seeing life's challenges. You'll also discover how important it is to slow down and notice the things that are really going well in your life! Finally, you'll learn to figure out what's really important to you, and how you can use your values to build resilience against stress and future setbacks.
Life is full of stress, but that doesn't mean you have to be. With this book, you'll learn to quiet your negative inner voice and focus on your strengths, so you can conquer any challenge you might face, achieve your goals, and live your very best life.

In My Feelings

Out of Order

Defeating Depression

The Anxiety Survival Guide for Teens

Where to Start

The Stress Survival Guide for Teens

In My Feelings

Introduction

Hello! You have found your way to the Mental Health and Suicide resource section of the Tough Topics Guide. If you are a young adult in crisis, please see the crisis resources on this page. If you are seeking other resources, please click here to access the list of resources for youth. You can also navigate to this page using the blue bars on the left (web) or top (mobile) of the page.

If you are an adult seeking resources for your young adult, please click here to access the resources we have compiled for parents and caregivers. You can also navigate to this page using the blue bars on the left or top of the page.

Recognizing the Warning Signs of Suicide

An essential first step in preventing Teen Suicide is to recognize the warning signs and knowing how to respond. From the El Paso County Department of Public Health:

*Recognize the warning signs*	*Understand how to get help for a youth at-risk for suicide*
- Talking about dying	- Express concern
- Recent loss (death, divorce in family, broken relationship, etc.)	- Ask directly about suicide
- Change in: personality, behavior, sleep patterns, eating habits.	- Encourage them to seek help (hotlines, crisis services, mental health services, etc.)
- Fear of losing control	-Involve an adult they trust
- Low self-esteem	-Call 911 for immediate concerns about safety
- No hope for the future

If you or someone you know is experiencing a crisis, please call the 988 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline, or call Colorado Crisis Services at 1-844-493-TALK (8255) or text "TALK" to 38255. These numbers will connect you to a safe and confidential crisis services by trained mental health professionals.

Crisis Services

988 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline and Colorado Crisis Services

If you or someone you know is experiencing a crisis, please do not hesitate to call the 988 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline, or call Colorado Crisis Services at 1-844-493-TALK (8255) or text "TALK" to 38255. These numbers will connect you to a safe and confidential crisis services by trained mental health professionals. Colorado Crisis Services also operates walk-in crisis centers at 115 S. Parkside Dr., Colorado Springs, CO 80910.

Local Resources

Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance (DBSA)
DBSA offers programs and services, including free self-help support groups for people with mood disorders, and their family and friends.
Diversus Health
Offers 24/7 crisis intervention, both at their walk in centers, by calling 844-493-TALK, or texting "TALK" to 38255
Forge Evolution
Forge Evolution empowers youth and their parents to foster resilient communities by inspiring accountability, empathy, and personal growth. Forge Evolution provides prevention programs & resiliency training to youth between the ages of 10-19.
Forward Together
Forward Together exists to help every young person in Colorado feel more connected and lead healthier lives through one key factor: great relationships. No matter where you are or how you feel today, we’re here to help you connect and remind you that you’re not alone. Connection is always possible.
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)
NAMI provides peer-taught education programs and support groups for families, parents of school-aged children, and individuals living with mental illness
The Place (formerly Urban Peak)
Daytime Number.............(719) 244-3959
After Hours Number........(719) 205-7129
The Place Colorado Springs emergency shelter, is a 20 bed facility for youth ages 15 through 20.
more...less...
423 E. Cucharras St.
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
Social and Emotional Wellness Coalition
The Social and Emotional Wellness (SEW) Coalition of the Tri-Lakes area is a group of students, parents, community members, professionals, and agencies, who meet to foster youth social emotional wellness in the Tri-Lakes community. The coalition ensures that youth in the Tri-Lakes community who need mental health support will be seen and heard.

Below the Surface

Below the surface is a crisis text line for teens that recognizes the fine line between feeling OK and not OK. It's free, confidential, and, since every struggle is different, personal. All counselors are trained to help texters deals with their unique situation.

Click Here for more information on the program and FAQs.

Just text TALK to 38255 or call 1-844-493-8255 if you are unable to text to connect with a counselor.

Recommended Websites

Anxiety and Depression Association of America
The Anxiety and Depression Association of America (ADAA) is an international nonprofit membership organization and a leader in education, training, and research for anxiety, depression and related disorders.
Bring Change to Mind
Bring Change to Mind is a nonprofit organization dedicated to encouraging dialogue about mental health, and to raising awareness, understanding, and empathy.
Healing Conversations: Personal Support for Suicide Loss
"Healing Conversations is a one-time visit (phone, virtual, in-person) that connects those who have lost a loved one to suicide with trained volunteers who are also survivors of suicide loss. The goal of this connection is to help recent survivors navigate this challenging journey by offering support, connection and resources."
Mental Health Is Health
Half of Us is a organization that offers resources and information about the mental health issues that most commonly affect young people and college students.
Mental Health Resource List
This resource list was put together by Social Work License Map and includes resources to support many different mental health issues.
National Association of Anoerxia and Associated Disorders
ANAD is the oldest organization aimed at fighting eating disorders in the United States. ANAD assists people struggling with eating disorders and also provides resources for families, schools and the eating disorder community.
Wellness Recovery Action Plan (WRAP)
WRAP is a self-designed wellness plan intended to help with mental health issues. This page offers other resources around mental health and wellness

Responding to Behavior Health Concerns in El Paso County

English
En Español

Responding to Behavioral Health Concerns in El Paso County
This guide provides a comprehensive list of emergency crisis services, non-crisis services, and other behavioral health resources throughout El Paso County.

Respuesta A Las Inquietudes De Salud Mental Y Conductual En El Condado De El Paso