Homeschool Hub: Information and Resources

"Inventive Resources to Ignite a Love of Writing." 826 Digital offers a variety of materials designed to encourage students of all ages to write, presenting a wide array of lesson plans, projects, writing prompts, and more. Free to use.

"Searching for books with a corresponding Renaissance Accelerated Reader 360® quiz is easy with Accelerated Reader Bookfinder®. Students, teachers, parents, and librarians can search in English or Spanish using criteria such as ATOS book level or a Lexile™ measure, interest level, title, author, fiction/nonfiction, subject, award-winners, state lists, CCSS Exemplars, and more."

This PBS website features more than 250 films covering the American Experience from Dinosaur Wars to the Polio Crusade to Amelia Earhart. Also included are teacher's guides, biographies, interactive maps, primary resources, timelines, and much much more.

Designed specifically for middle and high school students, this 10-minute news show appears as a daily digital video on CNN.com. It seeks to provide multiple viewpoints, clear illustrations, and general overviews instead of graphic descriptions. CNN 10 replaces CNN Student News.

Free online courses covering a wide range of topics in the areas of computer science, humanities, economics, and much more. Participating universities include Princeton University, Stanford University, University of California Berkeley, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, and University of Pennsylvania.

Discovery Education offers free resources for parents, teachers, and students, including lesson plans, homework help, videos, and more.

This free resource features thousands of documents from the National Archives brought together by historical era. Find sample activities or create your own.

The website for this hands-on science museum located in San Francisco provides an array of free activities, videos, printables, and interactive online resources on a variety of math and science topics.

Check the parenting section for articles and resources focusing on emotional development, parenting tips, learning issues, college prep, and more. A milestones section outlines key academic and social benchmarks aligned with Common Core State Standards. Parents can also access worksheets and other learning resources by grade level.

"Search almost 3,500 of the very best STEM activities on the web. Find handpicked activities from your favorite science museums, public television stations, universities, and other educational organizations. All activities are available to anyone, free of charge. Start searching now and filter by age, material costs, and learning time to find exactly what you need for your educational program, class, or family."

Play thousands of online jigsaw puzzles for free. Here you can find picture puzzles and games of all types, or use the jigsaw puzzle maker to play using any image you like.

Khan Academy, a non-profit, provides free standards-aligned video tutorials and interactive practice exercises in math, science, and the humanities from kindergarten through the early years of college (as well test prep). The self-paced lessons are organized to build knowledge one concept at a time. Create a free account to track a student’s progress, chart subject mastery, and support their learning needs.

This site provides parents with an accurate picture of their child’s learning needs along with concrete tools to bolster academic success and social-emotional development. Use the grade-level “Readiness Check” (K-8) to see where your student stands (kids answer short questions about reading or math, and then links to free activities targeting specific skills are provided). Caregivers can also search for learning aids by specific subject and grade level, identify a child’s character strengths and areas for development, download an idea-packed “Anti-Racism Resources Directory,” and more. (Accessible in Spanish).

This free-to-access site from the New York Times (NYT) features standards-aligned daily lessons on civics, social studies, history, and other topics related to current news and events. Also offers activities, writing prompts, quizzes and crosswords, and more.

This section of the NASA website includes free articles, activities, videos, and games for students in grades K–12 on topics related to STEM, aeronautics, and space exploration.

Chosen by the Association for Library Services to Children, part of ALA (American Library Association), the Notable Children’s Digital Media list "includes real-time, dynamic, and interactive media content for children 14 years of age and younger that enables and encourages active engagement and social interaction while informing, educating, and entertaining in exemplary ways."

RMPBS and PBS have curated FREE, standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more for teachers like you.

This site offers online tutorials, animations, help with physics word problems, curriculum, labs, and more.

Download and read over 60,000 public domain ebooks

This site “empowers K-12 students, parents, and teachers to quickly and easily find free project ideas and help in all areas of science from physics to food science and music to microbiology.” Includes fun science activities, project ideas (searchable by subject and grade level) as well as lesson plans.

This site offers engaging videos of experiments and science fair projects, detailed printable instructions, and some free lesson plans.

SurfNetKids (Surfing the Net with Kids), by newspaper columnist Barbara J. Feldman, provides “website resources for classroom and living room.” Find links to recommended kids websites on all sorts of topics, play free kids games, subscribe to the free weekly website reviews newsletter. This site has ads that may or may not be appropriate for kids.

Free to access, this site allows you to create a lesson around any TED talk, TED-Ed resource, or YouTube video. You can also search for and utilize an array of already-complete lessons that feature a video, quiz section, additional resources, and discussion forum.

Curated by Common Sense Media and free to use, this site offers engaging, high-quality online learning experiences for kids pre-K - 12. Access the content by subject, or plan a full school day by grade level.

Online classes; Levels 1 – 4, 12 week sessions—ages 11-18; also offers a 2 level drawing course for ages 11-18.

"Technological literacy is now as important for your students as reading, writing, and arithmetic. Technology Courses in coding, animation, and design teach students in grades 6-12 the technical skills that transform them from technology users to technology creators."

The United States Olympic and Paralympic Museum (USOPM) has created a FREE resiliency program called, “Becoming Your Personal Best: Life Lessons from Olympians & Paralympians.” This dynamic and engaging program focuses on the powerful stories stemming from the experiences of Olympic & Paralympic athletes. The program teaches life skills to kids through 6 resiliency focus areas: Self-identity, Mindset, Problem-Solving, Perseverance, Relationships & Confidence and the purpose of the program is to equip our youth to be their personal best. The program has 80+ learning modules that you can access at www.becomingyourpersonalbest.org.

Free online courses covering a wide range of topics in the areas of computer science, humanities, economics, and much more. Participating universities include Princeton University, Stanford University, University of California Berkeley, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, and University of Pennsylvania.

A high-quality online Spanish language program committed to the growth of young homeschooling students.

The Academy is dedicated to providing quality "Christian online courses to students everywhere. Your student will get to join our virtual campus and meet fellow Christian high schoolers from all 50 U.S. states and from several countries around the world!"

Exciting, hands-on, self-paced online courses for innovators, grades 6 – 12.

Uses music to make reading fun. Each lesson takes only 15 minutes as kids read, answer three levels of questions and get immediate feedback. Includes animated guide teaching test-taking strategies and comprehension hints.

Free website (operated with free-will donations) that includes free video lessons, free practice worksheets, free quizzes, and exams. For homeschool students, it provides pre-designed curriculum by grade and quarter, on-line worksheets and tests, 1-4 students per session.

Free site includes 325 Problem Sets in 4 categories: Math Foundations (grades 1 – 8), Challenging Math (grades 6 and up), Algebra, & Geometry. Can be used to practice for GED or ACT exams as well. Designed by a local math teacher.

Online Music School. Learn guitar, ukulele, mandolin, bass, vocal, drums, and piano/keyboard.

Explore the subject buttons to access databases and websites. This is a great place to find information on loads of topics to enhance your lesson plans.

The OERColorado Project is a statewide initiative to provide digital collections of free openly licensed curriculum resources for Colorado educators and homeschoolers to use in their teaching and classrooms.
The mission of OERColorado is to support Colorado educators, administrators, and other educational stakeholders in PK-12+ in using Open Educational Resources (OER) materials, share ideas, and create affordable, high quality learning resources.
OER stands for Open Educational Resources. The resources in the OERColorado public digital libraries include free lessons, classes, textbooks, simulations, games, rubrics, icebreakers, and many other educational tools for teachers to use in face-to-face, online and blended learning environments. Visit the site for more details.
Email us at OERColorado@gmail.com

"This guide provides instructions for 10 science projects designed to be done remotely within home labs. It also explores science topics and helps develop lab knowledge and safety skills in students." From Study.Com.

Sing up to receive one free, web-based curriculum idea every day.

Discovery Education offers free resources for parents, teachers, and students, including lesson plans, homework help, videos, and more.

Sign up for free to receive weekly e-mails with activities, craft projects, worksheets, games, science fair projects, and articles for parents of babies through high school students. A paid membership gets you more, but there is a lot available for free.

Links to fee materials from A2ZHomeschool.com.

Check the parenting section for articles and resources focusing on emotional development, parenting tips, learning issues, college prep, and more. A milestones section outlines key academic and social benchmarks aligned with Common Core State Standards. Parents can also access worksheets and other learning resources by grade level.

Free lesson plans, printable worksheets, calendars, templates, clip art, craft ideas, activities, writing practice templates, flash cards, word search, and more.

Free lesson plans for students pre-K through 12th grade from A2ZHomeschooling.com.

Offers free worksheets, resources, activist, and more.

Free printable math worksheets for every topic and grade level from ThoughtCo.

"We are your one stop shop for printable Montessori materials, free Montessori materials, theory, and tutorials."

Offers thousands of educational resources ready download for Pre-K - grade 12. Purchase a subscription, or buy individually. Some freebies also available.

RMPBS and PBS have curated FREE, standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more for teachers like you.

This online puzzle generator from Discovery Education can be used to create customized word searches, math squares, crisscrosses, mazes, cryptograms, and more.

Quizlet is a free website providing learning tools for students, including flashcards, study and game modes. Search for sets already created, or create your own.

Includes thousands of free lesson plans, unit plans, discussion guides, and extension activities.

Access 19,000+ worksheets, create-your-own worksheets, play fun games, explore online math, and more.

Over 30,000 lesson plans, 8,000+ printable worksheets, rubrics, teaching tips, worksheet makers, and other teaching resources. Some offerings require paid membership.Sign up for a free newsletter.

This FAQ page answers questions about testing and other issues.

Scroll down this FAQ page CHEC (Christian Home Educators of Colorado) to learn more about testing, evaluation, assessment, and other questions.

Articles and general information from the Home School Legal Defense Association (HSLDA).

A guide to standardized testing from the Home School Legal Defense Association (HSLDA).

Tests available: CAT/6 TerraNova2
(California Achievement Test) and Test of Cognitive Skills
(800) 723-3057

Tests available: Iowa Test of Basic Skills (ITBS), Stanford Achievement Test
(800) 845-5731

Tests available: Iowa Test of Basic Skills (ITBS), TerraNova; Online Stanford 10
(336) 699-3997

Tests available: California Achievement Test (CAT)

Tests available: California Achievement Test (CAT, 1970), mail-in and online.
Note: Christian Liberty does not send a composite test score and Colorado Law requires a composite score. If you order a test through them please request a composite score when ordering.
(800) 348-0899

Tests available: Stanford 10, online and paper tests.

Tests available: Iowa, Stanford 10 online, TerraNova 2, Cat E-Survey.
(800) 542-1066

The mission of Academic Advocates is to support students, parents, teachers, schools, and districts to better meet the needs of their struggling learners. Academic Advocates works with a variety of groups committed to leveling the playing field for all learners, including public schools and districts, home schools, military families, virtual schools, charter schools, private schools, public schools, and child care agencies.
(754) 368-3305

Mandi Frost supports (tw)teens to build executive function skills, cultivate healthy thinking patterns, so they make better choices and build strategies to manage their lives confidently and responsibly. Mandi also partners with parents in “The Coach Approach” to parenting and home education – drawing out a child`s potential and creating more connection and relationship through problem solving and collaboration.

Academic coaching addresses executive function skills: time management, organization, planning, focus, prioritization, mindsets, emotional regulation, self-advocacy, and other aspects like relationships, motivation, stress, and anxiety. Coaching supports students to become self-directed learners and problem solvers.

The Children’s Literacy Center, based in Colorado Springs, offers one-to-one tutoring to students who are reading below grade level at no cost to families. Students must have completed the fall semester of first grade and be reading between the first and sixth grade levels. CLC matches each student with a community volunteer trained in the Peak Reader® Program. Tutoring sessions are one hour, twice a week, for 12 weeks during the fall and spring and six weeks during the summer. CLC also offers tutoring on Saturday mornings in some areas. CLC has several locations in Colorado Springs.
(719) 471-8672

As a milestone education company, CollegeDrive's mission has always been to help students achieve academic success and unlock their greatest potential. This is why the CollegeDrive team created the Academic Success Program, a series of classes designed to help students bridge the gap between what they learned through March and the material they need to know to succeed moving forward.

Jimmy Costa offers affordable math tutoring for middle school, high school, and college students in the Colorado Springs area. He provides tutoring both in-person and online to students in El Paso County. He can help you with specific math problems, provide some studying tips for an upcoming final, or help you prep for an important math placement test. All of these services and more are available through Costa Comprehensive Tutoring.
Website: https://costatutoring.com/
Phone: (719) 440-3919

Debra Nelson, MA TESOL ESC offers LIT, BIT, & Evaluation Services.
1) Science of reading and learning based literacy instruction for students with and without dyslexia or other learning differences. One-on-one tutoring and small group classes are relational, student-data-centric, fun, multi-sensory; but concrete, sequential, systematic, and explicit.
2) BIT - Brain integration therapy for difficulties with learning, executive function, memory, vision and hearing, coordination, communication, and PTSD/trauma. Usually a sequence of 10-15 one-on-one therapy sessions.
3) Evaluations & Testing – Baseline reading assessments, and annual evaluations/testing. All students, but especially students with learning differences, respond well to this uniquely structured educational opportunity.
ESC understands the beauty in each person’s magnificent design and embraces the facilitation of the human brain’s capacities, and preference for relationships and making connections. Highly qualified as a Colorado licensed, Endorsed K-12, & READ ACT Certified teacher. 17-year homeschool veteran mom, support advocate, evaluator and test administrator. 20+ years as public educator, including 8 years as a language developing ELD teacher, and the last 6 years as reading interventionist-specialist. Debra’s educational philosophy is a harmonization of insights from neuroscience, Jim Wilder and Life Model associates’ relational science, brain integration therapeutics, and the proven IMSE Orton-Gillingham instructional approach. Free 30-minute initial consult: edservicesctr@gmail.com, edservicesctr.com

Laura Koch has a degree in biomedical engineering and 7+ years of private tutoring experience. Her tailored and personable approach has helped numerous students improve their grade and also enjoy their subject more. Elevate provides one-on-one tutoring and also group tutoring of up to 4 students in the same subject.
Subjects: Middle & High school math (Algebra, Trig, Geometry, Precalculus, etc.) Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Calculus, Linear Algebra, dynamics, differential equations, introductory C++ and Java. ACT math and SAT math.
Location: Mallow Rd, PPLD library, or in students home
Contact: (719) 345 - 8190 elevateSTEMtutoring@gmail.com

Partnering with parents to help homeschool kids build strong foundations for learning. Enjoy 2 Engage uses a holistic multi-sensory approach to strengthen existing neural connections and to create new neural pathways for thinkers 4 to 84.

Mathnasium Learning Centers offer customized math tutoring services helping kids in grades K-12 develop math skills through homework lessons & tutorials. (Briargate)
(719) 494-2199

Mathnasium Learning Centers offer customized math tutoring services helping kids in grades K-12 develop math skills through homework lessons & tutorials. (Monument)
(719) 941-8086

Mathnasium Learning Centers offer customized math tutoring services helping kids in grades K-12 develop math skills through homework lessons & tutorials. (Rockrimmon)
(719) 265-MATH (6284)

Located in the Briargate area, the READ Center specializes in language-based learning disabilities/differences such as dyslexia. Certified by the Academic Language Therapy Association as a certified academic language therapist (CALT) and trained in several Orton-Gillingham based curriculum. Take Flight: A Comprehensive Intervention for Students with Dyslexia is the curriculum primarily relied on. However, intervention is always driven by a student’s strengths and areas of need. The READ Center also provides formal evaluations, offering literacy and academic achievement evaluations.
Most importantly, the READ Center provides a safe, encouraging environment for children to grow as readers.

Special Needs Tutors offers a Live Virtual Secure Platform by State Credential Teachers to teach your child Reading, Math and can customize the curriculum to fit your child's academic needs. For more information, please email Bonnie@SpecialNeedsTutors.com.

Locally owned and operated, the Springs Literacy Center serves students of all ages with language-based learning disabilities including dyslexia, dysgraphia, and other undiagnosed difficulties with reading, spelling, handwriting, comprehension, and written composition. The highly trained team of certified teachers are accredited by the Academic Language Therapy Association (ALTA) as Practitioners or Therapists. The Literacy Center remediates students with language-based learning disabilities using extensive training in research-based literacy intervention curriculums. For dyslexia therapy the team mainly use Take Flight: A Comprehensive Intervention for Students with Dyslexia. Resources and curriculums from publishers like Neuhaus and Educators Publishing Service are also used. All materials are research based and tailored to meet the individual needs of students in small group or one-on-one tutoring settings. Additionally, the Literacy Center is qualified to administer and evaluate a student’s literacy abilities using a battery of assessments and determine if they meet a “profile of dyslexia.” Check the website for more information.

Nicole “Nicki” Rosa is a full time math tutor in Colorado Springs for over 20 years. Algebra, Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus, as well as SAT, ACT, GMAT, GTE, GED and GRE test preparation.

Tutor Doctor customizes tutoring to whatever each student needs whether it's academics, organization, study skills, etc.
(720) 613-9229

Search this online services marketplace for tutors in the academic area in which you are interested.