Skip to Main Content

Mountain of Authors

This guide provides information about a free annual community program for local authors and writers.

Patricia Raybon


A writer of faith by day and mystery by night, Patricia Raybon is a Christy Award-winning Colorado author, essayist, and novelist who writes daring and exciting books and stories at the intersection of faith and race.

An award-winning feature writer during her years at The Denver Post and the Rocky Mountain News—and a journalism faculty member at the University of Colorado at Boulder for 16 years—Patricia turned to fiction in 2021 with a 1920s murder mystery series featuring a young Black theologian who’s a fan of Sherlock Holmes and seeks to solve crime in Colorado’s dangerous Klan era.

The series’ debut title, All That Is Secret, won the 2022 Christy Award for First Novel and was a Parade Magazine “Mysteries We Love” pick for Fall 2021 and a Masterpiece on PBS "Best Mystery Books of 2021: As Recommended by Bestselling Authors."

The novel’s second installment, Double the Lies, finds heroine Annalee Spain racing the clock to solve the murder of a young barnstorming pilot before the Colorado Klan frames her for the crime.

Patricia’s nonfiction books including two notable memoirs, My First White Friend, winner of the Christopher Award, and I Told the Mountain to Move, a 2006 Book of the Year finalist in the Christianity Today Magazine annual book competition.

Patricia’s personal essays have been published in the New York Times Magazine, Newsweek, USA Today, USA Weekend, Guideposts, In Touch Magazine, Christianity Today, Everyday Faith, Country Living, the Washington Post, and for National Public Radio’s Weekend Edition. She’s also a regular contributor for the global ministry, Our Daily Bread.

A lifelong Colorado resident, Patricia lives near Denver with her husband Dan, a retired educator. With their extended family—including two grown daughters, a son-in-law, five grandchildren and a “grand dog” Max—they enjoy movies, popcorn, bike riding, gardening, and historic dramas and thrillers on Masterpiece Mysteries.

Randi Samuelson-Brown


A C-CPAN author, Randi Samuelson-Brown is originally from Golden, Colorado, but now lives in Denver. A finalist in the 2021 Colorado Book Awards for The Bad Old Days of Colorado (non-fiction), she won Equus Film Awards - Best Western 2022 – for her book Brand Chaser, published by Wolfpack.

Her father instilled a passion for Western history from early on, and she certainly latched on to the more notorious aspects of life in Colorado and the West. Joys in life include writing, riding horses and traveling around Colorado and the West, finding inspiration from people, places, and open spaces.

Marc Cameron


New York Times bestselling author Marc Cameron’s Jericho Quinn thriller series debuted in 2011. Since then, he’s written eight Quinn novels and four Arliss Cutter novels featuring a deputy US marshal based in Alaska, including the most recent Cutter, Cold Snap, and the upcoming Breakneck (April 2023 from Kensington Publishing Corp.)  Marc is the author of six Tom Clancy/Jack Ryan novels for the Tom Clancy estate, including the most recent, Red Winter, and the upcoming Command and Control (November 2023 from GP Putnam’s Sons/Penguin Random House.)

A retired Chief Deputy U.S. Marshal, Marc spent nearly thirty years in law enforcement. He holds a second-degree black belt in jujitsu and is a certified law enforcement scuba diver and man-tracking instructor. The job of a deputy US marshal is extremely varied. Marc’s career focused primarily on dignitary protection and fugitive operations. As a member of the rural Tactical Tracking Unit for the US Marshals District of Alaska, Marc routinely tracked lost hikers, hunters, and fugitives in the vast Alaska bush. His assignments have taken him from Alaska to Manhattan, Canada to Mexico and dozens of points in between.

Originally from Texas, Marc is an avid outdoorsman, sailor, and adventure motorcyclist.  He and his wife live in Alaska where they raised their three children.