LibGuides: Laws & Legal Forms: Federal Laws

Additional Guides

Eviction Information and Resources
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Jun 24, 2024 827 views this year
Getting Legal Help
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Jun 10, 2024 2552 views this year
Government
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Jul 25, 2024 235 views this year
Law & Legal Resources
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Jul 25, 2024 2737 views this year
Laws & Legal Forms
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Jul 25, 2024 510 views this year
Money Issues
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Aug 2, 2023 171 views this year
Representing Yourself in Court
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Jun 25, 2024 431 views this year
Special Legal Topics
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Jun 24, 2024 819 views this year
Understanding the Law
by Deb Hamilton Last Updated Jun 24, 2024 88 views this year

Federal Laws

Foundational and Cornerstone Documents:

America's Founding Documents
An online exhibit from the National Archives that includes the Declaration of Independence, U.S. Constitution, the Bill of Rights, and other documents.
The Constitution of the United States of America
From Govinfo.gov
Cornerstone Documents of U.S. Democracy
Cornerstone, presidential, judicial, and congressional documents from the Government Publishing Office.
Declaring Independence
Library of Congress online exhibit on the Declaration of Independence that includes a chronology, history, images of key documents.

Laws from the Legislative Branch:

Congress.gov
Legislation, Congressional Record, standing committees, members of Congress, legislative process, and more.
Congressional Record
Official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress - from the Government Publishing Office website - govinfo.
Constitutions, Statutes, and Codes
From Cornell's Legal Information Institute. Includes both federal and state constitutions, statutes, and codes.
govinfo
From the U.S. Government Publishing Office. Includes links to the Code of Federal Regulations, Compilation of Presidential Documents, Congressional Bills, Congressional Documents, Congressional Hearings, Congressional Record, Congressional Reports, Economic Indicators, Federal Register, Public & Private Laws, and many more government publications.
Office of Law Revision Counsel - United States Code
The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.
U.S. House of Representatives Homepage
Includes information about the House of Representative, its committees, and how to find your representative.
U.S. Senate Homepage
Information about the Senate, its committees, and how to find your senator.
United States Code
Searchable by U.S Code citation, Public Law Number, or popular name. From the Government Publishing Office's website govinfo.

Laws from the Executive Branch:

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
Agency and department regulations. Search by keyword, title, and citation. From the Government Publishing Office.
Code of Federal Regulations (Cornell)
Agency and department regulations. Search by contents and citation. From the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
From the Government Publishing Office. "The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. "
eCFR
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the official legal print publication containing the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR) is a continuously updated online version of the CFR. It is not an official legal edition of the CFR.
Federal Register
From the Government Publishing Office. Official daily publication for federal agencies rules and notices, Executive Orders, etc.
Regulations.gov
Find, review, and comment on federal regulations.

Laws from the Judicial Branch:

**DISCLAIMER - Cases may be overturned fully or in part as new cases are decided. Please check for currency or come to the Penrose Library branch to do your case law research in WestlawNext which includes a way to check case law currency.

Court Listener
Access federal court opinions and orders. This resource, known as the RECAP Archive, allows users to search approximately 3.4 million orders and opinions from approximately 1.5 million federal district and bankruptcy court cases dating back to 1960. New opinions are downloaded in to the Archive every night to keep the collection up to date.
Decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court
From the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University. Includes decisions from 1990 to present.
Federal Rules of Evidence
From Cornell's Legal Information Institute. Rules of evidence for Federal Courts.
FindLaw for Legal Professionals
Google Scholar
Search for case law for both Federal and Colorado State courts.
Justia - United States Case Law
Opinions for the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals
Search published opinions dating back to 1995 for the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals located in Denver, CO.
Opinions for the United States District Court for Colorado
"United States Courts Opinions (USCOURTS) collection is a collaborative effort between the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) and the Administrative Office of the United States Courts (AOUSC) to provide public access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. The USCOURTS collection is consistent with the E-Government Act's requirement for the substance of all written opinions, issued after April 16, 2005, to be made available in a text searchable format."
OYEZ Project - U.S. Supreme Court Multimedia
Multimedia archive including U.S. Supreme Court cases, justices, tour, discussions, and history.
PlainSite - Court Cases
Access to case law and other legal sources.
Public Access to Court Electronic Records - PACER
"Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) is an electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information online from federal appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts, and the PACER Case Locator. " Please note, this website charges for its services.
Supreme Court of the United States
Official site.
Supreme Court Opinions
From the Legal Information Institute (LII) at Cornell University. Contains decisions from 1990 on and a collection of 600+ historic decisions.
Supreme Court Opinions 1760 on
From FindLaw. This database contains opinions from 1760 on.
U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit
Opinions, rules, forms, jury instructions, judicial misconduct complaints and more.
U.S. District Court for the District of Colorado
Forms, local rules, jury information, opinions, Public Access to Court Electronic Records database (PACER), and more.
United States Courts
Court locator, rules & policies, judges, statistics, forms, fees, and more.