Loosely defined, misinformation is false information, no matter whether the creator or sharer of that information intended to mislead or not.
"7 Types of Mis- and Disinformation" by First Draft is licensed under CC BY 4.0 DEED.
Source: “Why people fall for misinformation - Joseph Isaac” by TED-Ed: "In 1901, David Hänig published research that led to what we know today as the taste map: an illustration that divides the tongue into four separate areas. It has since been published in textbooks and newspapers. There is just one problem: the map is wrong. So how do misconceptions like this spread, and what makes a fake fact so easy to believe? Joseph Isaac dives into the world of misinformation. [Directed by CUB Animation, narrated by Addison Anderson, music by József Iszlai]." (description from TED-Ed website)
| term | definition | source |
| bias | a) an inclination of temperament or outlook; especially: a personal and sometimes unreasoned judgment : PREJUDICE; b) an instance of such prejudice |
Merriam- Webster Dictionary |
| clickbait | an internet story, title, image, etc. that is intended to attract attention and encourage people to click on a link | Cambridge Dictionary |
| confirmation bias | people’s tendency to process information by looking for, or interpreting, information that is consistent with their existing beliefs. | Britannica |
| crisis actor |
a professional or volunteer actor who plays a role in a staged drill in order to prepare or train first responders for a specific emergency scenario; or (in a false flag conspiracy theory) a person pretending to be a victim in a hoax attack. |
Dictionary.com |
| deepfake | any of various media, esp. a video, that has been digitally manipulated to replace one person's likeness convincingly with that of another, often used maliciously to show someone doing something that he or she did not do. | Oxford Languages |
| disinformation | deliberately misleading or biased information; manipulated narrative or facts; propaganda | Dictionary.com |
| filter bubble | an environment and especially an online environment in which people are exposed only to opinions and information that conform to their existing beliefs | Merriam- Webster Dictionary |
| go viral | if a video, image, or story goes viral, it spreads quickly and widely on the internet through social media and email. | Collins Dictionary |
| misinformation | incorrect or misleading information | Merriam- Webster Dictionary |
| parody | a literary or musical work in which the style of an author or work is closely imitated for comic effect or in ridicule | Merriam- Webster Dictionary |
| satire | a poem or (in later use) a novel, film, or other work of art which uses humour, irony, exaggeration, or ridicule to expose and criticize prevailing immorality or foolishness, esp. as a form of social or political commentary. | Oxford Languages |
| troll | a troll is Internet slang for a person who intentionally tries to instigate conflict, hostility, or arguments in an online social community. | GCF Global |