LibGuides: Information and Media Literacy: How to Spot the Good, the Bad, and the Just Plain Ugly: Information Checking

Information Checking

When considering any information you may wish to share or act upon, it is important to examine that information carefully. There is no substitution or shortcut for due diligence. In addition to the SIFT strategy (found here), here are some other possible information vetting methods for you to consider:

How to Spot Fake News
Downloadable PDF infographic (from the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions website)
How to Trace Sources
"Important steps to remember when searching for sources and verifying profiles and bios online." (description from the First Draft YouTube site)
Key Questions to Ask When Analyzing Media Experiences
"Media literacy requires us to actively consider all our media experiences, from scrolling social media to watching news at the dentist’s office. The term media experiences accounts for both the media text (what many think of as 'the message') and the environment—both physical and technological—in which we encounter the text.

"The key questions below can help us to think critically about the messages we encounter, the platforms and technologies that help shape those messages, and our own personal contexts that we bring to each media experience. Not all questions may apply to every media experience, and there may be others you find yourself asking in addition to these. Some questions will have more than one answer, but for all questions, we should also be sure to probe for evidence, asking ourselves, How do I know that? What makes me say that?" (description from The National Association for Media Literacy Education website)
NewsFeed Defenders
"Our new media literacy game teaches players how to detect and disregard disinformation and misinformation in today’s chaotic environment." (description from the FactCheck.org website)
Research Skills Tutorial
"This is a self-paced, non-credit course that covers research skills, critical thinking, media and internet literacy, and understanding the complexities of the modern information environment (including libraries.)" (description from the Empire State University website)
U.S. Media Literacy Week
"Inspired by Canada’s Media Literacy Week, the annual U.S. Media Literacy Week is hosted by the National Association for Media Literacy Education (NAMLE). The mission is to highlight the power of media literacy education and its essential role in education all across the country. U.S. Media Literacy Week calls attention to media literacy education by bringing together hundreds of partners for events and activities around the country." (description from the National Association for Media Literacy Education website)
Verification Handbook: For Disinformation And Media Manipulation
The book is published by the European Journalism Centre and supported by Craig Newmark Philanthropies: "The latest edition of the Verification Handbook arrives at a critical moment. Today’s information environment is more chaotic and easier to manipulate than ever before. This book equips journalists with the knowledge to investigate social media accounts, bots, private messaging apps, information operations, deep fakes, as well as other forms of disinformation and media manipulation. The first resource of its kind, it builds on the first edition of the Verification Handbook and the Verification Handbook for Investigative Reporting." (description from the DataJournalism website)
Verification on the Go: How to Use Your Phone to Verify Online Material
"Beyond scrolling Twitter and sharing cat gifs, your mobile device can be an incredible tool to verify information found online. You can still do basic checks using just your phone before you share something, even when you’re out reporting in the field or away from your desk. This interactive session will walk you through some of the tools available to verify images and videos found on social media. You will be able to follow along, test your skills, and unleash the verification power of your pocket companion." (description from First Draft's YouTube site)

Authentic current and historic events will have coverage from many websites. If you are curious about a post that you see, check with some PPLD current event-focused databases to see what additional information has been published from reputable media sources.

For verification of other types of information (such as historic events), consider researching under the applicable Subject under PPLD's LibGuides here.

America's News This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete electronic editions of more than 2,000 U.S. newspapers and news video clips including The Gazette.
Explora for Public Libraries This link opens in a new window
Find articles and facts from the world’s leading magazines and reference books in one search.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue, helping students develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
TOPICSearch This link opens in a new window
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.

Reputable fact-checking sites are important tools to have as part of any strong information-checking strategy. The following are reputable, non-partisan, non-profit sites:

FactCheck
"We are a nonpartisan, nonprofit 'consumer advocate' for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases. Our goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding. FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania." (description from the FactCheck website)
PolitiFact
"Fact-checking journalism is the heart of PolitiFact. Our core principles are independence, transparency, fairness, thorough reporting and clear writing. The reason we publish is to give citizens the information they need to govern themselves in a democracy." (description from the PolitiFact website)
RumorGuard
"NLP [The News Literacy Project] created RumorGuard to help us all learn how to recognize misinformation and stop it in its tracks. Each fact-checked viral rumor contains concrete tips to help you build your news literacy foundation and confidently evaluate claims you see online." (description from the News Literacy Project website; square brackets added for clarification)
Snopes
"Snopes got its start in 1994, investigating urban legends, hoaxes, and folklore. As demand for reliable fact checks grew, so did Snopes. Now it’s the oldest and largest fact-checking site online, widely regarded by journalists, folklorists, and readers as an invaluable research companion." (description from the Snopes website)