LibGuides: Information and Media Literacy: News Sources

News Literacy

Assessing News Sources: Real vs. Fake News:

All media outlets and individuals may not agree on an exact definition of real news or real media, but real news and real media have specific qualities:

Real news and media include online or print articles, statistics, social media posts, images/infographics, or other formats.
- Real news and media can be created by organizations or individuals.
Real news and media follow codes of ethics (see the Journalistic Codes of Ethics and Standards resources below).
Real news and media keep information within its original context.
- Real news and media do not remove or reorganize words or statistics to make a desired point.
- Real news and media do not use altered videos, photographs, or images.
Real news and media acknowledge any previously published errors as soon as those errors are discovered.
Real news and media list credible and verifiable sources, which are the only sources from which they take their information.

One of the ways in which a news source can show it is authentic and responsible is by adhering to a publicly-accessible code of ethics or standards. A sample of various codes, mission statements, and ethics handbooks from journalism organizations are listed below.

News Leaders Association: Ethics
A comprehensive list of codes of ethics from different news outlets and professional organizations dedicated to journalism. "The American Society of News Editors and the Associated Press Media Editors joined forces to become the News Leaders Association. NLA empowers journalists at all levels with the training, support and networks they need to lead and transform diverse, sustainable newsrooms." (description from the News Leaders Association website)
Practicing Quality Journalism
"Learn the standards of quality journalism by playing the role of reporter in a game-like simulation of a breaking news event." (description from the Checkology website)
Public service, not ad dollars, are at the heart of good journalism
"Quality news outlets protect the independence of their reportage with policies that insulate newsroom[s] from the influence of opinionators and advertisers" (description from the News Literacy Project website)
Society of Professional Journalists: Code of Ethics
"Members of the Society of Professional Journalists believe that public enlightenment is the forerunner of justice and the foundation of democracy. Ethical journalism strives to ensure the free exchange of information that is accurate, fair and thorough. An ethical journalist acts with integrity." (description from the Society of Professional Journalists website)

Guides from the Investigative Reporters & Editors Inc.
"A comprehensive site for journalists to find free online resources, educational materials and other IRE offerings" (from page).
Verification Handbook
"This book equips journalists with the knowledge to investigate social media accounts, bots, private messaging apps, information operations, deep fakes, as well as other forms of disinformation and media manipulation." Free eBook for all!
Webinar Recording | What does it mean to be "news-literate"?
Source: "Webinar Recording | What does it mean to be 'news-literate'?" by News Literacy Project:" Jan. 27, 2023: "In this webinar, we’ll provide an overview of the news literacy concepts and skills that students need in order to be reliably informed, such as recognizing the difference between news and other types of information, including opinion and propaganda. We will use the standards of quality journalism to identify credible news sources and common types of misinformation." (description from News Literacy Project YouTube website)
What Is News?
"Explore how journalists 'filter' information, or determine which events and issues to cover in a given news cycle, by using key criteria." (description from the Checkology website)

The Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication
"The Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) is a nonprofit, educational association of journalism and mass communication educators, students and media professionals. The Association’s mission is to promote the highest possible standards for journalism and mass communication education, to cultivate the widest possible range of communication research, to encourage the implementation of a multi-cultural society in the classroom and curriculum, and to defend and maintain freedom of communication in an effort to achieve better professional practice and a better informed public" (from the About page).
Investigative Reporters and Editors Inc.
"Investigative Reporters and Editors Inc. is a grassroots nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the quality of investigative reporting. IRE was formed to create a forum in which journalists throughout the world could help each other by sharing story ideas, newsgathering techniques and news sources" (from About page).
The National Press Photographers Association
"The National Press Photographers Association is dedicated to the advancement of visual journalism – its creation, practice, training, editing and distribution – in all news media and works to promote its role as a vital public service." (description from the National Press Photographers Association website)
News Leaders Association
"NLA empowers journalists at all levels with the training, support and networks they need to lead and transform diverse, sustainable newsrooms" (from the About page).
The Poynter Institute
"Poynter has long represented the gold standard for the professional development of journalists. For 50 years, Poynter has worked to bolster local news infrastructure and sustainability" (from the About page). They offer a variety of services ranging from coverage to education.
Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA)
"The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to broadcast and digital journalism. Founded as a grassroots organization in 1946, RTDNA's mission is to promote and protect responsible journalism" (from the website).
Society of Professional Journalists
"The Society of Professional Journalists is the nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior. Founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry through the daily work of its thousands of members; works to inspire and educate current and future journalists through professional development; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press through its advocacy efforts" (from About page).

CBS Colorado
CBS Colorado news coverage.
CSIndy
Local news & culture coverage.
Fox 21 News
Local Fox News channel – covers local stories. The benefit of using local coverage is getting perspective and information about how issues – big and small- may impact the local community.
KKTV
Local coverage.
KOAA
Local news coverage.
KRDO
Local news coverage.
Rocky Mountain PBS
"Over a million Coloradans turn to Rocky Mountain PBS to discover provocative and inspiring local, national and international programming; find diverse viewpoints; score front row center seats to world-class performances; and experience lifelong learning opportunities every month."

National Public Radio (NPR)
"NPR is an independent, nonprofit media organization that was founded on a mission to create a more informed public."
PBS
"PBS is a private, nonprofit corporation, founded in 1969, whose members are America’s public TV stations -- noncommercial, educational licensees that operate more than 330 PBS member stations and serve all 50 states, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam and American Samoa." (from the website).

Associated Press
"The Associated Press is an independent global news organization dedicated to factual reporting. Founded in 1846, AP today remains the most trusted source of fast, accurate, unbiased news in all formats and the essential provider of the technology and services vital to the news business. More than half the world’s population sees AP journalism every day."
BBC
The British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) is the "world’s leading public service broadcaster" (from their website). They offer entertainment, news, and more.