Mythology and Folklore - Topic Guides - English and Language Arts

Search Terms

Specific key words or phrases are necessary to find information in databases or the library catalog. We recommend:

Mythology
World Mythology
Greek Mythology
Pantheon
Folklore
God
Goddess
Hero's Journey

Search Strategies

You can use place names combined with the words "mythology" or "folklore" (e.g. South American Mythology, Irish Folklore), and the names of different Gods, Goddesses, or Heroes as search terms in databases
You can use these search terms to find books in the library catalog and eBooks or eAudiobooks in the eLibrary
To narrow your search, type two terms into a search bar in this format: "Term 1" AND "Term 2". This search will only provide resources that include both terms. Combine any two search terms from the box into a database search bar to see what you find.
Find more database search tips on the Debate Issues & Paper Topics guide, in the Database Search Tops box.

Standards and Knowledge Building

This guide is connected to the following Colorado Academic Standards

Read a wide range of literary texts to build knowledge and to better understand the human experience.
Read a wide range of informational texts to build knowledge and to better understand the human experience
Understand how language functions in different contexts, command a variety of word-learning strategies to assist comprehension, and make effective choices for meaning or style when writing and speaking

This guide will support students by building further knowledge in:

How to use PPLD resources to find information on mythology and folklore.

Contact

Mikaela Fortune

Email Me

Contact:

5550 N. Union Blvd.
Colorado Springs, CO
80918

(719) 531-6333

Welcome to the Mythology and Folklore Topic Guide!

Databases

Databases are subject-specific search engines that provide access to journal articles and other reliable resources. The following PPLD databases are recommended for students studying Mythology and/or Folklore.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Searches almost 3500 full text academic and scholarly journals.
Encyclopedia of World Mythology This link opens in a new window
Entry topics include gods and goddesses; heroes and other key characters; motifs and global themes; major myths; and national or cultural mythologies. Coverage spans a diversity of cultures, including standard Greek/Roman entries as well as Native North and South American traditions, Norse mythology, Asian Pacific mythology, Judeo-Christian tradition, and Islamic and Hindu mythologies.
Explora for Public Libraries This link opens in a new window
Find articles and facts from the world’s leading magazines and reference books in one search.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: World History reaches back to the ancient world—and forward to today's headlines—to deliver a chronicle of the people, cultures, events, and societies that have formed the history of the human race. A range of topics such as Aztecs, Industrial Revolution, Silk Road, the Buddha, Space Race, and more provide a wide perspective across the globe.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Searches our entire collection of Gale eBooks on a variety of subjects, including history, science, government, business and more.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Includes biographical information on 122,000 authors and literary criticism on their works.

Reference materials are things like encyclopedias and handbooks that provide quick facts and summaries of different subjects. The following encyclopedias and dictionaries in the PPLD catalog support the study of Mythology and/or Folklore:

The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend by Anthony S. Mercatante; James R. Dow (Revised by)
Call Number: 291.1303 M553F 2003 V.1 Reference
ISBN: 0816047081
Publication Date: 2004-02-01
This encyclopedia provides an overview of approximately 3000 myths and legends from around the world and throughout the ages. These include everything from Aesop's fables to the Viking gods and goddesses to the stories of the Ancient Greeks and Romans that form the basis of western lore.
The Oxford Companion to World Mythology by David Leeming
Call Number: 201.3 L485O Reference
ISBN: 9780195156690
Publication Date: 2005-11-17
In the Oxford Companion to World Mythology, David Leeming explores the role of mythology, or myth-logic, in history and determines that the dreams of specific cultures add up to a larger collective story of humanity.
The Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern Mythology and Religion by Jan Knappert
Call Number: 292.130956 K67E Reference
ISBN: 1852304278
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Comprehensive A to Z guide. Includes mythological and religious traditions such as Zoroastrianism, Judaism, Christianity, lslam and Baha'i Faith.

Reference materials are things like encyclopedias and handbooks that provide quick facts and summaries of different subjects. The following books in the PPLD catalog support the study of Mythology and/or Folklore:

The Chinese Myths by Tao Tao Liu
Call Number: 299.5 LIU
ISBN: 9780500252383
Publication Date: 2023-01-10
The essential guide to the complex, fascinating world of Chinese myths: retelling the stories and exploring their significance in Chinese culture.
Gods and Heroes by Korwin Briggs
Call Number: 201.303 BRIG
ISBN: 9781523503780
Publication Date: 2018-08-21
Featuring more than 70 characters from 23 cultures around the world, this A-to-Z encyclopedia of mythology is a who's who of powerful gods and goddesses, warriors and kings, enchanted creatures and earthshaking giants whose stories have been passed down since the beginning of time--and are now given fresh life for a new generation of young readers.
Gods of World Mythology by Don Nardo
Call Number: 398.45 NARD
ISBN: 9781678200824
Publication Date: 2021-08-01
Certain universal themes run throughout mythologies of the many and diverse peoples of the past. Each pantheon of deities has at least one creator god, for instance. Gods of justice, war, and love are also common. Gods of World Mythology explores some of the leading gods of the Greeks, Romans, Norse, Hindus, Chinese, Aztecs, and Igbo.
Great mythologies of the world [sound recording] by Various professors
Call Number: 291.13 GREA 31-DISCS
ISBN: 9781501924293
Publication Date: 2015
The Japanese Myths by Joshua Frydman
Call Number: 299.56 FRYD
ISBN: 9780500252314
Publication Date: 2022-07-05
An illustrated guide to the fantastic world of Japanese myths: retelling the stories and exploring how Japanese mythology has changed over time, as new gods, heroes, and spirits have entered the canon.
Myths and Legends of India, Egypt, China and Japan by Rachel Storm
Call Number: 398.203095 STOR
ISBN: 9781846810671
Publication Date: 2017-06-06
An authoritative encyclopedia of the mythologies of the East, with 500 entries and 400 pictures.
The Sea-Ringed World by Maria Garcia Esperon; Amanda Mijangos (Illustrator); David Bowles (Translator)
Call Number: 398.2097 GARC
ISBN: 9781646140152
Publication Date: 2021-02-23
Presents a collection of stories from nations and cultures across our two continents, the Sea-Ringed World, as the Aztecs called it, from the edge of Argentina all the way up to Alaska.
Women of Myth by Jenny Williamson; Genn McMenemy; Sara Richard (Illustrator)
Call Number: 202.13082 WILL
ISBN: 9781507219416
Publication Date: 2023-02-21
Get inspired with 50 fascinating stories of powerful female figures from mythologies around the world. From heroines and deities to leaders and mythical creatures, this collection explores figures of myth who can inspire modern readers with their ability to shape our culture with the stories of their power, wisdom, compassion, and cunning.

Explore (multimedia and recommended websites)

Recommended Websites
Multimedia

You can use trusted, online sources to find information. For more information on reliable, online sources, please visit PPLD’s Debate Issues & Paper Topics guide. PPLD recommends:

Crash Course: World Mythology
Crash Course Mythology with Mike Rugnetta is a 41-episode course is based on an introductory college-level curriculum spanning mythologies around the globe.
Encyclopedia Mythica
Encyclopedia Mythica is an internet encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and religion.
Folktexts: Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
A repository of myths, legends, and folkloric texts from all over the world.
Godchecker
"Our legendary mythology encyclopedia now includes nearly four thousand weird and wonderful Gods, Supreme Beings, Demons, Spirits and Fabulous Beasts from all over the world. Explore ancient legends and folklore, and discover Gods of everything from Fertility to Fluff with Godchecker..."
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is a library of free eBooks. Do a quick search for mythology or folklore to find myths, legends, fairytales, and more.
Sacred Texts Archive
"...a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language."
TEDEd: Myths From Around the World
Myths serve a profound role in our cultures and traditions, anchoring us to a sense of history and meaning through storytelling. Travel around the world, from the Egyptian underworld, to the majestic halls of Valhalla, the land of eternal youth and more, with this series.

Use these multimedia sources to watch or listen to information on this topic.

Great Mythologies of the World
Great Mythologies of the World is a series of videos from The Great Courses. It is comprised of 60 videos on world mythologies from Greece to India to the North American planes.
Fate & Fabled
This series of videos from PBS Storied "digs into the stories and characters, both ancient and modern, from all around the world."
Overly Sarcastic Productions: Miscellaneous Myths
Short videos that summarize myths from Red & Blue, the YouTube duo that make up Overly Sarcastic Productions. Proceed with caution, there are swears.