LibGuides: Prospect Research: Online Resources

Additional Nonprofit Guides

Boards
by Katie Edson Last Updated Apr 8, 2024 0 views this year
CFRE Recommended Resources & Reading List
by Katie Edson Last Updated Mar 15, 2024 70 views this year
Education and Training Resources for Nonprofits
by Katie Edson Last Updated Jan 18, 2024 106 views this year
Fiscal Sponsorship
by Katie Edson Last Updated Feb 1, 2024 105 views this year
Grant Research
by Katie Edson Last Updated Feb 1, 2024 216 views this year
Helping Hands El Paso County Community Resources
by Nicole Flemate Last Updated Mar 29, 2024 11176 views this year
Prospect Research
by Katie Edson Last Updated Feb 29, 2024 21 views this year
Robert Hilbert Nonprofit Resource Center
by Katie Edson Last Updated Feb 19, 2024 991 views this year
Social Enterprise
by Katie Edson Last Updated Jan 18, 2024 33 views this year
Starting a Nonprofit
by Katie Edson Last Updated Feb 26, 2024 218 views this year

Data Axle (formerly known as Reference USA) This link opens in a new window
Data Axle (formerly Reference USA) contains information on 79 million businesses and 279 million consumers.
Additionally, this resource includes lifestyle and consumer data on many market segments to help identify new market opportunities.
Data Axle also includes 2.5 million job and internship postings.

DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
Delivers the data you need to make sound business decisions. With Demographics Now you can analyze the demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S. Includes mapping.

DemographicsNow Tutorial
Gale Business: DemographicsNow is a comprehensive business tool that provides up-to-date and easy access to an array of geographically aligned demographic data perfect for obtaining insights to develop business plans, marketing strategies, and even grant applications. This webinar covers navigation of available data and features.
Duration: 30 Minutes
Gale Business: DemographicsNow - Mapping
This tutorial will show you how to use Gale Business: DemographicsNow's Maps to visually understand a current or potential market and its consumers.
Duration: Under 15 Minutes
Gale Business: DemographicsNow - Finding Your Competition
This tutorial will show you how to use Gale Business: DemographicsNow to identify and research your competition so that you can develop an edge in your nonprofit interest area.
Duration: Under 15 Minutes

America’s News: https://research.ppld.org/magazines-newspapers/databases* Coverage includes: Gazette, Denver Post, Rocky Mountain News, Pueblo Chieftain, and more
Pikes Peak Newsfinder: https://research.ppld.org/magazines-newspapers*
Newspaper Source: https://research.ppld.org/magazines-newspapers/databases*
All above PPLD news databases can be found on ppld.org on the Magazines/Newspapers link under the Research tab of the home page.

Doctor and Dentist Databases

American Medical Association: https://doctorfinder.ama-assn.org/doctorfinder
American Dental Association: http://www.mouthhealthy.org/en/find-a-dentist.aspx

Lawyer Database

Obituaries

*Require a PPLD library card or access from within a PPLD branch library

Top Lists

David Lamb’s Prospect Research: http://lambresearch.com (some fee-based - not updated but still good resources)
Forbes 400: http://www.forbes.com/forbes-400/

Telephone Directories and Contact Information

Miscellaneous

Political Donations: http://opensecrets.org
CACI (Consolidated Analysis Systems Inc.) – print publication. Great for zip code demographics – income/spending, etc.
Zoominfo: http://www.zoominfo.com (aggregates public information on individuals - some fee-based)
SearchSystems.net: https://publicrecords.searchsystems.net/ (free public records search)
APRA: https://www.aprahome.org/prspct-l: PRSPCT-L is a discussion group and mailing list of subscribers who work in non-profit fundraising, specifically those engaged in prospect research, data mining and analytics, and relationship management.

Corporate Information and Stockholdings

Real Estate Assessments