In 1975, Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service (LIRS) contacted LFSRM to begin resettlement of refugees. Since that time, the LFSRM Refugee & Asylee Programs have helped people who have been uprooted by persecution and violence work towards self-sufficiency through essential resettlement services, including: housing, employment, English language, and cultural orientation.
LFSRM works together with LIRS, and other churches, organizations, community groups, businesses, and individuals to provide the services and supplies necessary for refugees to become self-sufficient and integrate into their new communities.
Colorado Refugee Services - Colorado Refugee Services Program (CRSP). Their mission is to ensure the effective resettlement of refugees and to promote refugee advancement past self-sufficiency and to long-term integration. Colorado has a long history of leadership and support for refugee resettlement. Whether you are a refugee, asylee, community partner, or an interested individual looking for a way to connect, they hope to provide you with the resources you need.
International Rescue Committee - The International Rescue Committee responds to the world’s worst humanitarian crises and helps people whose lives and livelihoods are shattered by conflict and disaster to survive, recover and gain control of their future. In more than 40 countries and over 20 U.S. cities, their dedicated teams provide clean water, shelter, health care, education and empowerment support to refugees and displaced people.
African Community Center - Denver - The African Community Center of Denver was created in May 2001 through our parent organization, the Ethiopian Community Development Council. Beginning with only 3 staff members resettling 60 refugees, they have grown into a staff of over 28 multi-lingual, compassionate employees who serve over 1,500 refugees, asylees, and other immigrants each year.
Office of Refugee Resettlement - The Office of Refugee Resettlement (ORR) provides new populations with the opportunity to achieve their full potential in the United States. Their programs provide people in need with critical resources to assist them in becoming integrated members of American society.
Resources and information explaining the asylum process in the United States, including the I-589 application and other forms.
UN Refugee Agency Legal Aid Information
The United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) Regional Office Washington, D.C. (ROW) provides information explaining the asylum process to refugees and asylum-seekers already present in the United States who fear being returned to a country where they are afraid they might suffer persecution. Unlike the situation in some countries, UNHCR ROW does not have any formal role in the decision-making process on asylum claims or refugee status in the United States.
Immigration Advocates Organization
National Immigration Legal Services Directory. There are options to search for immigration legal services providers by state, county, or detention facility. Only nonprofit organizations that provide free or low-cost immigration legal services are included in this directory. If you have questions, please see the list of frequently asked questions or email directory@immigrationadvocates.org.
Executive Office for Immigration Review
The Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) today announced its “Access EOIR” initiative. Through this multi-faceted effort, EOIR aims to increase access to information and raise the level of representation for individuals appearing before the immigration courts.
US Department of Justice List of Pro Bono Legal Service Providers (EIOR)
The Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR) today announced its “Access EOIR” initiative. Through this multi-faceted effort, EOIR aims to increase access to information and raise the level of representation for individuals appearing before the immigration courts.
American Immigration Lawyers Association is the national association of more than 15,000 attorneys and law professors who practice and teach immigration law. AILA member attorneys represent U.S. families seeking permanent residence for close family members, as well as U.S. businesses seeking talent from the global marketplace. AILA members also represent foreign students, entertainers, athletes, and asylum seekers, often on a pro bono basis. Founded in 1946, AILA is a nonpartisan, not-for-profit organization that provides continuing legal education, information, professional services, and expertise through its 39 chapters and over 50 national committees.
Immi helps immigrants to the US understand their legal options. Their online Eligibility Review tool, legal information, and referrals to nonprofit legal services organizations are always free to use. immi was created by the Immigration Advocacy Network (IAN) and Pro Bono Net, two non-profit organizations dedicated to increasing access to justice for low-income immigrants.
From NOLO.com.
From Findlaw.com.
National Immigration Law Center
Established in 1979, the National Immigration Law Center (NILC) is one of the leading organizations in the U.S. exclusively dedicated to defending and advancing the rights of low-income immigrants.
U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services - Laws
The USCIS LAWS section provides information on laws, regulations and interpretations controlling immigration and the work of the immigration-related components of the Department of Homeland Security.
Disclaimer: This website includes links to non-PPLD websites and services. PPLD cannot control the content or functionality of non-PPLD websites or services nor endorse the accessibility or accuracy of those sites. Users should use critical judgment in relying on information found in these resources and determine what information is appropriate to their needs.
This website also links to documents that may not be fully accessible, documents can be made accessible by request. Please visit our Accessibility page for more information.