Skip to main content

Business Resources

Welcome to the Business Resources guide. This guide will highlight what is available to you.

Business Collection

PPLD has a variety of resrouces available to you. There are mamy books on various aspects of business, finance, and investing. Books can be checked out for 3 weeks and may be renewed if there are no holds on the title. PPLD also has a large electronic library for ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines. In addition, Penrose Library, East Library and Library 21C have a collection of business reference books available for reading in the library. Reference books do not check out, but check the catalog to see if there another copy that circulates.

In addition to the books, ebooks, audiobooks, and the reference collection, PPLD provides access to various newspaper articles including The Wall Street Journal and the New York Times.

The library also subscribes to databases which can help you find marketing and demographic information, starting a business, and sample business plans.

A PPLD library card is needed to access electronic materials such as databases, ebooks, emagazines, as well as to check out books. 

Library Card Information

Search the PPLD catalog.

Tips for searching the catalog:

  • Choosing "All Fields" from the drop-down menu will search for your term or phrase through the title, description, and subject fields. 
  • You can also choose to search for a specific title, author, subject, or ISBN. 
  • When your search results display, you can use the options on the left side to narrow the results by Library Location, Material Type, Shelf Location, Author, Publication Date, or Subject. 
    • When searching for business books, narrow your search by selecting shelf location and choosing non-fiction.

 

 

Find a collection of current electronic books with the Business Essentials Collection.

Search the entire electronic catalog by inserting a broad term like business or an author or title into the search bar. 

To search Business magazine titles, click on Subject, Select Magazines, and then click on Business and Finance. A selection of periodical titles will appear.

 

Reference Books do not check out, however, some titles will have copies that are circulated. The Business Reference Books are located at Penrose, Library 21C, and East. Not every location will have the same books. Below is a list of titles that may be useful and do not have copies that circulate. To view you will need to go to that specific location.

Business Reference Books
Title Location(s) Description
Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios PE,LE,EA The Almanac provides financial information that is calculated and derived from the latest available IRS data on nearly 5 million U.S. and international companies.
Book of Lists - Colorado Springs PE, SC Navigate the local business landscape with Book of Lists. Local data at your fingertips
Book of Lists - Denver PE, SC Navigate the local business landscape with Book of Lists. Local data at your fingertips
Business Plans Handbook PE Examples of business plans. Also available electronically. 
Business Rankings Annual PE, LI Business Rankings Annual helps librarians answer reference questions related to rankings information
Business Resource Guide and Membership Directory PE, SC This publication will help you market your business directly to area business owners, neighborhood residents and visitors.
Business Statistics of the United States PE
Capital Changes Reporter PE Capital Changes Reporter provides the facts and figures to compute a security holder's gain or loss from capital changes. Covers federal tax consequences of capital changes for more than 100,000 corporations and organizations resulting from stock dividends, stock splits, reorganizations, exchanges, rights and other changes in capital structure in a database that spans over 100 years.
Colorado Business Resource Guide PE The essential guide to pricing businesses with up-to-date rules of thumb and pricing information for nearly 600 types of businesses.
Colorado manufacturers register PE, EA, SC Find Nearly One Million Manufacturing Executives by Name & Title With Direct Email.
Consultant & independent contractor agreements PE,EA Whether you’re an independent contractor or a business hiring one to work for you, a written agreement will help to protect your rights, define expectations, and prove that there’s no employer-employee relationship.
Consultants and consulting organizations directory PE a reference guide to concerns and individuals engaged in consultation for business, industry and government.
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios PE, EA Statistics on Over 800 Lines of Business
Market Share Reporter PE,LI Market Share Reporter is a compilation of market share reports from periodical literature and is a unique resource for competitive analysis, diversification planning, marketing research, and other forms of economic and policy analysis.
Pratt's Guide to Private Equity & Venture Capital Sources PE, EA  The goal of this publication is to incorporate the most current information on individual private equity and venture capital firms as well as the private equity investment process