Skip to main content

PPLD PowerPass Partnerships

FAQs, specific school district partnership information, PPLD resources, and contacts.

PowerPass Basics

BASIC POWERPASS TROUBLESHOOTING:

QUESTIONS ABOUT CHROMEBOOKS:

  • If students will be accessing the books through Power Pass on a Chromebook, is there some kind of an app or program that needs to be on the computer?  (I ask this knowing that I use the Libby app on my phone and my own kids use Overdrive on their tablet so that sort of process is what I am familiar with and we are not sure if this process should look different.)
  • If students do access books through an app or program like that, how do we access it to download onto their computers?
  • If students do not access the books that way, then are they limited to books that are ‘Read in Browser- HTML’ copies?  Can they get the Adobe Epub books or any of the other kinds of electronic books available?
  • If students are using the ‘Read in Browser-HTML’ copies are they downloaded onto their Chromebooks or are they saved in the library system somehow and then just accessed by the student each time they want to read?  If that is the case, then how do they find it each time?
  • If the books are downloaded onto the student Chromebooks, where can they be accessed?

ANSWER: 

Here is the link on how to use Libby on Chromebooks:

https://help.overdrive.com/en-us/1307.html?tocpath=Home%7CGetting%20started%20with%20OverDrive%7CChromebook%7C_____1

I think it will answer most of the questions above.

They do not need to worry about putting Adobe Digital Editions on the devices.  The vast majority of eBook titles (if not all) in OverDrive/Libby can be read through the Libby app or with the “read in browser” option.

QUESTION ABOUT LIBBY APP ON STUDENT DEVICES:

 

I helped a D11 special ed teacher download ebooks today. He was very excited (as he says!) about that. In Libby there is a special font called OpenDyslexic that helps those with dyslexia track better. For the future, this would be a great tool/resource to promote to special ed teachers at all levels.

Also, do you know if D11 IT department approved the Libby app to be put on school issued devices? When I was talking to the teacher, the head of IT for that school was there. He hadn’t heard that it was, but he was going to look into it and help make it happen.

 

QUESTIONS ABOUT  DATABASES:

CAN TOO MANY STUDENTS BE TRYING TO ACCESS A DATABASE?

No, Most of the research databases, as well as the content platforms (Overdrive, Freegal, RBdigital, Hoopla, Kanopy) can sustain many users without problems. 

HOW DO WE TROUBLESHOOT A DATABASE?

HOW DO I KNOW WHEN PPLD IS HAVING ISSUES WITH A DATABASE OR WEBSITE?

If a database is down, an alert will be placed on the home page of this guide for easy access.

We do notify the vendors if a database is down and also notify our IT Department or ILS vendor if patron authentication appears to be a problem. Some basic troubleshooting will help to determine if a database issue is probably on the database provider’s end or on PPLD’s end. If only one database is not allowing access or doesn’t load in the browser, or if only databases from one provider (such as Ebsco or Gale) aren’t functioning, the problem is likely to be on the vendor’s end. The vendor is also likely to know about it.

If none of the research databases are accessible, but you can log on to Overdrive, we may have a problem with the EZProxy server that validates accounts to use the databases. Alternately, if you can access the databases but not Overdrive/Freegal/Lynda.com, there may be a problem with the ILS. In either of these situation.,  We are also likely to find out about these problems fairly quickly from staff.

If a student is not able to access any of the online resources, or log on to the PPLD catalog, there may be a problem with the ID or PIN the student is using, or the student may not have been loaded into the PPLD ILS database. 

The online resources have links to technical support and some have tutorials. For questions on how to search particular databases or which databases are good for particular topics, anyone can call (719-389-8968) or email (eref@ppld.org) for assistance.

 

 

 

We have students unable to log into Cybershelf resources Audiobookcloud.com and TumbleBookCloud (middle/high).

Each is giving the message that an invalid library card ID has been entered.

I have tried both the Library Card ID (PowerPass username) as well as the “sign in” Username & Password. I get the same results if I’m on our D11 network or my cellphone (browser on Sprint network). I have also tried both after logging into PPLD first.

Are these resources not available via PPLD without personal provider accounts? (unable to use PowerPass accounts)

ANSWER: I’ve contacted the vendor (same vendor for both) and suspect they will need to change the acceptable card number length or somesuch.

2ND PART OF ANSWER: Your personal account did expire on 10/22/19 which is why those services didn't let you log on or create an account.  Other services are not so thorough in their validation of the account and may not check expiration date, which is why you may have been able to log on to TumbleBooks, AudioBookCloud, etc.  

ADDENDUM: It looks like the vendor has set up the rules to allow the student accounts.  I tested with a couple of student IDs.

DOES THE MONTHLY DASHBOARD STATISTICS INCLUDE STATS FROM PPLD'S ELIBRARY?

ANSWER: 

eLibrary usage cannot currently be gathered at this time.  As for OverDrive, it was decided, since there is significant effort to get at the data, that it could be done quarterly or just the Fall and Winter semesters.

QUESTION: 

f you go to Tumblebooks via the Cybershelf link, it does not allow you to log in.

If you go to Tumblebooks via the PPLD Kids/Read link, it does.  Is that fixable?

ANSWER: 

QUESTION: Hello!  I wanted to check in about the PPLD holds since I have now taught all my 3rd-5th graders how to use either Libby or Overdrive and many would like to place holds.  As I've thought about it, I think maybe putting their teacher's email makes the most sense.  I don't think their teacher will get an email saying which student the hold was for, but they could make an announcement to the class that "such-and-such book is now available if you put a hold on it," and then students who think it might be them could check their app.  Please let me know if this is something we can go ahead with, or not.  Thank you!

QUESTION: 

D11 contacted me about the issues they are having with Tumblebooks and eBooks in general.  Do you happen to have a eBook how to document for children?  D11 would love to have something to help their students out.

 

 

 

QUESTIONS ABOUT HOLDS AND CHECKOUTS: 

 

QUESTION: Will PPLD deliver student PowerPass holds to schools? Answer: PPLD  would not be able to deliver holds to schools.

QUESTION: My PowerPass card is blocked because I have fees for a damaged book, can I get a regular library card instead and use that? Answer: Yes, plus you can still use our eLibrary resources with a blocked PowerPass ecard.

QUESTION: Can students use Interlibrary loan (ILL) with their PowerPass? Answer: No, the PowerPass does not include ILL.

QUESTION: How will the PowerPass be similar or different from a regular library card in terms of fines and fees?

ANSWER:

1. PPLD accounts will accrue bills for lost or damaged items (no overdue fines), which can result in the account being blocked (at $10) from further checkout of physical materials.

2. Accounts shall be blocked at $10 or more in bills. 

3. Blocked accounts will continue to have access to digital resources, with the exception of Lynda.com and Overdrive   

4. PPLD student accounts will be excluded from reports that send accounts to the collection agency.

5. PPLD student accounts with lost/damaged item bills that have not been paid when the student leaves the district or graduates will be forgiven.

QUESTION : How will the PPLD self-checkout machines work with a PowerPass? Answer: Yes. PPLD self check-out machines have alphanumeric keyboards so letters and numbers may be used like in a PowerPass number.ISSUE THAT AROSE BUT WAS CORRECTED: I’ve had two libraries call to say they’ve been running into problems when those with student cards try to use the Self CKOs.  There was change in the student cards (schools were added) that seems to have caused a problem when students try to use the Self CKOs.  When the card number is entered they see a “Library card not found” screen.Their cards do work when staff check items out to them using WorkFlows, or when they sign up for a pc or when they access our databases, it’s just the Self CKOs that don’t recognize the cards. SirsiDynix and Bibliotheca are working on the problem and I’ll let you know when it is resolved.  In the meantime please check the students out manually and explain that we are working to fix the problem.

QUESTION: HOW DO I RESET MY POWERPASS PIN?

The email in their PPLD student accounts will be their D11 email, so if the child/parent can access that they would actually receive an email from the ILS that provides a link to reset the PIN.  It doesn't send the existing PIN.. Just click on the Forgot PIN link and the student can create a new one.  

QUESTION: Can I checkout a laptop in the library with my PowerPass #? Answer: Yes, but you must be at least 12 years old.

QUESTION: If the student has a PowerPass account, can we use the same address information to create a PPLD card, or do we still need to mail the card home?

QUESTION ABOUT CHARTER SCHOOLS: 

It depends on the charter's relationship to the hosting school district. In D11, two charters enjoy the PowerPass but several do not. In HSD2, no charters are included in the PowerPass partnership. Going forward, we will hope to include charters in our conversations with the each school district, HOWEVER, unless a charter school can send their data to the district to be included with the school district's batch data that will be submitted, the charter will have to wait to be included and have separate conversations at a later date. 

QUESTION: I was just curious if the dashboard stats you send each month included ebooks. 

ANSWER: I really wish I could add eBook stats to the dashboard but at this point it isn’t possible. The only way I can figure out how many D11 cards were used is to look at the user id itself (only D11 cards start with letters).  Unless D2 user IDs are very different it will be extremely difficult to figure out OverDrive statistics.

QUESTION ABOUT COLLEGE ACCOUNTS VS. POWERPASS ACCOUNTS:

HOW ARE COLLEGE STUDENT ACCOUNTS DIFFERENT FROM THE POWERPASS?

In addition to the partnership with School District 11 that resulted in the creation of special PPLD “PowerPass” accounts for the k-12 students, we also have begun a partnership with UCCS that provides a “college student account” for UCCS students.  These accounts for UCCS students have a profile of COLLEGE.  It is likely that other area institutions of higher education will take part as well.   In the case of the COLLEGE profile accounts, the students have to register themselves and they are not able to check out any physical materials with the accounts.  The accounts will start with a “3” as the temporary accounts do, when patrons register online.  The COLLEGE accounts are valid for one year beginning on August 15.  They are removed each year (hopefully on August 14) and the students have to register again each year.  This allows UCCS to validate that the student is currently enrolled and then pass them to the registration site.  

 

Here is a brief chart to indicate how the COLLEGE profile accounts are different from the STUDENT profile accounts:

 

Profile

STUDENT

COLLEGE

Can access databases and Cybershelf resources?

Yes

Yes

Can check out physical items?

Yes, 5 max on an account

No

Can use ILL?

No

No

Can account be modified to be full privilege account?

No

Yes, unless there is an existing full privilege account which can be updated.  Be sure to change the profile if you modify a COLLEGE account to PUBLIC or CLC.

How long is account active?

Until student leaves D11

Accounts are deleted each August and college students can create new account each year after that

How is account created?

File of student info is uploaded - includes all students

College students register themselves via a version of the online user registration site

Can staff create an account with this profile?

No

No

What is it called?

PowerPass

College student account

QUESTION: Would the students who leave be captured in the updated information we get from schools each time we get the info dump from schools?

EMAIL EXCERPTS FOR POSSIBLE QUESTIONS:

My comment was “Parents asking for checkouts or lost info?”

We need to clarify when parents can obtain info about the students’ accounts and what info they can obtain. -Jenny

Q: Can we see the text that was in the letter D11 parents received regarding the student accounts with PPLD?  Today a parent told a staff member that she received a letter from D-11 stating that she needed to come in and get a regular card for her daughter.  We presume there was misunderstanding of the letter and it may be that English is a second language for this parent.

Q: Can you tell me what to tell people about what happens when they show up at your circ desk?  Will Circulation people be able to look them up?  What will they need to have with them? The little ones don’t carry their ID around—they are kept at the school for lunches and library.  We did talk about this, but I’m not sure what conclusion you came to.

Q: Several of them are interested in pursuing this for their districts.  They wanted names of contacts, but I want to check with you first.  Are you all ready to start the process with other districts?  Would you be willing for me to share names at PPLD for them to get started?

ELEMENTARY, MIDDLE SCHOOL, AND HIGH SCHOOL PROMOTIONAL VIDEOS PRODUCED BY PPLD:

Each school within the school district will have a PowerPass liaison in-house to promote and train the school community on the PowerPass.

CONTRACTS INCLUDE:

1. Organization Profiles

2. Terms of Agreement

3. Scope of Services

4. The Objectives of Agreement

5. PPLD and School District Agreed Roles and Reciprocation

6. Special and General Provisions