Skip to Main Content

HSD2 Language Arts Curriculum Guide: Grades 3 - 5

Harrison School District 2 Language Arts Curriculum Guide for grades 3-5 to promote the new PowerPass for students.

Unit 1: Cultures in Conflict

WEBSITES:

BOOKS FROM PPLD COLLECTION:

PPLD EBOOK REFERENCE:

PPLD Reference eBook : "Nez Perce." UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes, 2nd ed., vol. 3: Arctic, Subarctic, Great Plains and Plateau, UXL, 2008. Gale eBooks, Link to Article.

PPLD Reference eBook: Swagerty, William R. "Nez Perce." Dictionary of American History, edited by Stanley I. Kutler, 3rd ed., vol. 6, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2003, pp. 100-101. Gale eBooks .Link to article. 

Culture is a combination of human beliefs, customs, and behaviors:

A culture is a group of people with something important in common:

Cultures also make values. Values are important ideas:

 

  • This Smithsonian site offers all kinds of information and online exhibits about the history of Native Americans:

National Museum of the American Indian: Online Exhibitions

Native American Facts for Kids:

The Westward Expansion of the United States brought another period of great changes and suffering for Native people:

Settlers on Native American Lands. (2021). In Gale Elementary Online Collection. Gale, a Cengage Company. 

The battles fought between settlers and Native Americans were called the Indian Wars:

Indian Wars. (2020). In Gale Elementary Online Collection. Gale, a Cengage Company. 

  • "Joseph, Chief." Encyclopedia of World Biography Online, Gale, 1998. Gale In Context: Biography, The American Indian Joseph (ca. 1840-1904), a Nez Perce chief, fought to preserve his homeland and did much to awaken the conscience of America to the plight of Native Americans.

In 1877, the Nez Perce war erupted, the result of growing tensions between the Native peoples of the Northwest and the settlers who coveted Native lands. The program tells this story in the words and tales of the Nez Perce, passed from generation to generation.

  • Nez Percé. (2015). In Britannica Student Encyclopedia: An A to Z Encyclopedia. Encyclopaedia Britannica. 
  • Marla Felkins Ryan and Linda Schmittroth. (2004). Nez Perce: Customs. In M. F. Ryan & L. Schmittroth (Eds.), Tribes of Native America. Nez Perce. Blackbirch Press. 

Nez Perce families often gathered to tell stories, especially during the winter months. Many of the stories they shared spoke of how all things in nature were related:

Marla Felkins Ryan and Linda Schmittroth. (2004). Nez Perce: Daily Life. In M. F. Ryan & L. Schmittroth (Eds.), Tribes of Native America. Nez Perce. Blackbirch Press. 

The homeland of the Nez Perce or Nimiipuu is surrounded by landmarks that serve as backdrops to stories about coyote and other spiritual entities.

Great websites:

Other recommended sites:

Unit 2: Word Play

BOOKS AVAILABLE AT PPLD ABOUT HOW AUTHORS PLAY WITH WORDS:

 BOOKS AND WORD PLAY AVAILABLE AT PPLD: 

HOW TO WRITE STORIES (BY A COUPLE EXPERTS):

HOW TO PLAY WITH WORDS IN YOUR STORIES:

GOOD EXAMPLES OF USING WORDPLAY IN BOOKS AT PPLD:

RESOURCES ABOUT NORTON JUSTER:

IF YOU LIKED THE PHANTOM TOLLBOOTH, YOU MAY ALSO LIKE THESE BOOKS:

Unit 3 : A War Between Us

CURATED VIDEOS AND PODCASTS:

RESOURCES AVAILABLE AT PPLD

REFERENCE BOOKS

CURATED WEBSITES

PPLD DATABASES AVAILABLE WITH LIBRARY CARD OR POWER PASS

RESOURCES AVAILABLE AT PPLD

Recommended website:

RESOURCES AVAILABLE AT PPLD

RESOURCES AVAILABLE AT PPLD

CURATED VIDEOS AND PODCASTS

RESOURCES AVAILABLE AT PPLD

REFERENCE BOOKS

Unit 4 : Breaking Barriers

VIDEO: JACKIE ROBINSON BROKE COLOR BARRIER IN BASEBALL

VIDEO: This SIKIDS.com video tells the story of kids in Israel, both Jewish and Arab, coming together to play on the same soccer team with the help of "Bridge to Peace," a program developed by the Education and Social Project of Hapoel 'Keter' Tel Aviv.

VIDEO: In this City Pulse segment, we kick off the new decade in the heart of America, where Oklahoma City is experiencing another victory for sports advocacy and community-building. 

PPLD J-FICTION, J-NON-FICTION, AND J-BIOGRAPHY BOOKS ABOUT HOW PEOPLE IN SPORTS HAD TO BREAK BARRIERS:

OTHER CURATED RESOURCES: DATABASES, PODCASTS AND ARTICLES

LISTEN TO RAYMOND'S RUN BY TONI CADE BAMBARA

THE FOLLOWING VIDEO IS A STUDENT PROJECT:

PPLD J-NON-FICTION AND J-BIOGRAPHY BOOKS:

PPLD J-NON-FICTION AND J-BIOGRAPHY BOOKS:

PPLD J-FICTION, J-NON-FICTION, J-BIOGRAPHY, AND ADULT REFERENCE BOOKS:

PPLD J-FICTION, J-NON-FICTION, AND J-BIOGRAPHY BOOKS:

OTHER CURATED RESOURCES

WHY A STORY FROM 2012? BECAUSE IT'S TIMELESS:

PPLD J-NON-FICTION BOOKS: